You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Louder than a bomb: My hate turned love relationship with poetry - Part 1

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I hate poetry. Hate.

Not exactly true. I dislike poetry because I could never quite get the rules. And as I recall it, there were serious rules. Most of my poetry experience was memorizing 'classic' poems of varying length. It seems that my teachers all thought that the way to make you learn some discipline was to memorize a thousand words of near gibberish. The only poet I would ever read was Jack London. Those made sense to me with rhyme and stanza structure I could get.

I'm going to watch the documentary. Maybe there is hope for me yet.

Thanks for this. I really do appreciate the opportunity to try to understand something about poetry.

Sort:  

Poetry is certainly one of those things that if introduced in the wrong way it can turn kids off. I never understood the memorization of poems. Enjoy them and break them down and move on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63630.77
ETH 3179.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95