You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I may have missed Down Syndrome Awareness Day... but I didn't miss this lesson.

The two videos were heartwarming and touching. We love the Christina Perri song and listen to it often when we are having our "music" nights but to see it used for that video was so nice. I loved seeing the kids participating. One of my close friends here has a son with Down Syndrome. We used to spend a lot of time together when the kids were younger and would go to the cottage together. I remember seeing how people would react to this young man in situations. It was as you describe it from the video with Katy Perry. People will speak to people with Down's as if they are a child. I learned through that relationship to speak to him the same as any of the other kids. In my first year of teaching, I was a grade 1 teacher. It was the scariest year of my life but that's another story. In our school, we had a developmentally delayed class with 8 students in it. The teacher was looking for classrooms where he could integrate some of her students. Being a new teacher I jumped on the opportunity and I am so glad I did. It was such a rewarding experience to work with these young people who were so happy and willing to work hard. Any teacher who has the opportunity to do the same thing should take it for sure. You won't regret it.

Sort:  

You are a class act my friend! Way to role model for the veteran teacher sin your school. Bet you do that for the new ones now.

A teacher's role is just that, you represented perfectly what we need from our teaching class. Truly well done... here's an upvote fragment :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86