You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planting Eggs In The Garden

in #steemiteducation5 years ago

Sounds promising! I know when I was growing up that my mom always saved the egg shells and used coffee grounds for her gardens and she always had beautiful plants and the best vegetable garden..wish I had inherited more of that green thumb. 🙂

Sort:  

Coffee grounds? wow, did your mom compost the coffee first or just sprinkle the used coffee grounds directly on the ground? I've only ever tried used coffee grounds as an exfoliant in the shower. Holy, what a mess that made!!

Hi @steem-samiam! It was so long ago but I believe she just put them in the garden and tilled it in. She had a stove percolator (fun fact..they still sell them) and would save the grounds and eggshells. I remember her adding them together in a can and adding the contents weekly to her garden. It wasn't unusual to find eggshells in the indoor plants as well. I did not inherit her green thumb so much. Her gardens were her biggest joy, other than her nine children (I think..lol). I bet that was a mess but I can see where it would make a great exfoliant too.😉

Thanks! Nine children, wow!:)

I save the egg shells too. I just crunch them up with my hand so the pieces are broken but sharp. I toss them on top of dirt in container pots and it deters my cats from getting in there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60