You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Brief History and Evolution of Weapons

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

great piece. one thing I'd argue against is the "Thrown Rock" as being the original weapon. Paleontologist believe a handheld rock, stick or club would constitute the first weapon, and were not invented by modern humans, but rather our hominid relatives. Humans may have innovated projectiles, as it seems Neanderthals did not hurl their spears, but this is not certain, and I don't believe it, but it is an accepted theory. I just think it's awesomely interesting that the basis of weapons technology began with other species, and we adopted and innovated upon those beginnings.

Sort:  

Wow i'm thankful i used the word probable because i knew the prehistoric period is very arguable for everyone. However, the stone age weapons are almost nothing, but as you mentioned; relating the invention of the first weapon to other species, man that's so interesting!

got to use those qualifiers. probable is a great one. Yup, I'm totally interested in our great ape cousins, which I believe existed. I think that's where myths of elves and dwarves and such come from--reality. And I do strongly believe humanity inherited a great deal of tech before we innovated upon any of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85