Teacher's Karma


Designed using Canva



You don't know who you are teaching, so you'd better do it right.

30 years ago, I met my first music teachers, one was at music school, and the other one at elementary school. I don't know if they were dating yet, but they were eventually husband and wife. He taught me to play the cuatro (Venezuelan instrument) and she was a gifted singer, who introduced me to choral music. They set my music foundations. My ear was starting to learn even before I could write. They were my teachers for years, probably until I started high school. But they never stopped caring for me.

They didn't know I'd become a music teacher just like them. But they were very happy when they found out about my career choice.
They didn't know I would come back to our hometown to teach at high school, and I bet they wouldn't have guessed that I would happen to be their daughter's teacher 20 years later.

How it felt? It was breathtaking. I kept thinking, that they taught me everything so generously and now it was my turn to pay back, returning all that love to their most precious masterpiece.

So that makes me think...You don't really know how tall the plant is going to be. You don't know if your student is going to be the next Einstein, or someone who would resent you for life, so you must do your absolute best every single time.

Most importantly, you might be teaching the person that is going to teach ( and hopefully inspire) your own kids. So what do you want that person to be like?

Steemian @fun2learn made a great post about teaching from the heart of a parent, and it triggered this memory. For me it is a wonderful real story that I should share more often.
So, who would you trust with your kid's education? You'd better start teaching all your students as potential candidates for that responsibility. You never know.

@empathetic

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for this inspiring post of your personal learning journey and how you impact others because of your teachers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Your post inspired me. You have such a cool user name

Posted using Partiko Android

la docencia es un camino precioso que mezclado con el tiempo y el transcurso de la vida genera posibilidades infinitas (Y normalmente preciosas).

Realmente es fascinante...hay historias increíbles y otras muy cotidianas pero todas nos dejan una enseñanza.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's so nice to see how our teachers were those who mold us and inspired us to carry on their task for seeding the knowledge into kids.

Good examples When you grow up are often Being followed When older

That's right! Thanks for reading :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I love this story. Your sincerity shines through.
Well done.

Wow l! that means a lot coming from you. Thanks for reading, I think as teachers we have more special moments than we can remember or write down, but steemit makes it easier, because reading other people's articles brings back that kind of memories. I'm happy to have you on my steemit network.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87