How to Raise and Support your Child to be Multilingual

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)
Having two or more languages spoken at home can be a challenge to most families. As we all know, children will have no difficulty learning any language. They will be able to pick up and be more fluent in more than one language, for as long as they are always immersed in those particular languages. The problem lies with the parents because they will have to agree and decide what language should they teach their child, especially if the parents have their own first language, apart from English.


I asked my mother-in-law how her children became fluent in both English and Greek since Greek has always been the language spoken at home. She said that all her children learnt English from school, being away from home every day for 6-8 hours. They had no choice but learn to speak English. She could remember that her son (my husband) could not speak English at all when he first entered kindergarten. He used to cry all the time because he did not want to come to school. Nobody could understand him so he found it hard to establish friendships with other children. He learnt to speak and understand English eventually as days went by and has remained fluent in Greek. My mother-in-law also learnt English through communicating with her children, as well as customers from their shop.

As for me, Filipino is my first language and it was the language spoken at home. I learnt English at school or mostly by self-taught through reading and watching American TV shows and movies. I'm thinking, and I also said this to my husband, that if ever we will have a child of our own in the future, I would want our child to learn to speak and understand Greek and Filipino fluently. I strongly believe that a language is one of the important cultural factors that determine one's identity and I want my child to embrace his or her roots, heritage, and identity.

According to Dr. Eisenchlas (2016), there are two main models for raising bilingual children.

Option 1: One person-one language

This model might be helpful for me and my husband since we both speak different first languages. Because we want our child to learn both Greek and Filipino, we will have to speak our native language to our child at home. Our child will also learn to use English at school and in the community. Our primary reason for teaching our child our own language is not to have "secret conversations" with our child so that the other parent will not be able to understand what is being talked about but to help both of us connect with our child in our own languages. It is, therefore, necessary for both of us to learn each other's languages so neither of us will feel left out when we speak our own language to our child.

I have actually taken this action since I have met my husband. Since I am a lover of language, I have endeavoured to learn Greek myself, and now I am able to pick up some of the words in Greek, and I can also read and write in Greek, although not fluently yet.

Option 2: Minority language pattern

"the minority language model means that your children hear, speak and use your native language a lot at home, because you and your partner are using it."

If you and your partner speak the same first language, then this model might be helpful for you.

Recently, I asked some of the parents at our Early Learning Centre who migrated from India about the level of English that they speak with the children at home. The parents are confident that their children will learn English at school since they will be forced to communicate in English with their peers and teachers. At home, the parents speak Hindi to their children, because they do not want them to grow up not speaking their native language.

But guess what, 100% of Filipino students at our school, unfortunately, cannot speak or even understand our Filipino language, which is a shame. I hope this is not the case for all other Filipino families in Australia. I will want my child to learn Filipino, because as I have said earlier, I do not want him or her to lose his/her heritage and identity, just the same way that I want my child to learn the Greek language, too.

How can you support your bilingual (or multilingual) child effectively?

  • Start with the basics. Almost everything around us is countable. So teach your child the numbers in your native language, the same way that you teach him/her the numbers in English. You may also teach your child the things he/she can find in his/her home or in the community in your language.

  • Immerse your child in your first language by sticking with your language choice at home. Watch programs on TV, sing songs, play, listen to, and dance to music in your native language.

"Children love music, and melody is a great way to help remember things."

  • Make learning fun and interesting. For example, your child loves the book "The Three Little Pigs." You could find a version of this book in your first language, and read the story to your child. Encourage your child to join in, and if you're up to it, use dress-ups and puppets and re-enact the scenes from the book with your child.

  • Play games. "I Spy" is a great game to refer to objects in your native language, and your child will be able to familiarise with the terms in that language.

  • Enrol your child in schools or child care centres that support your child's use of your native language.

Give your child plenty of opportunities to listen to and speak your native language. If your child doesn't respond to you using your language, don't give up. You can respond to your child in your language, too, to acknowledge that you understand him/her. Just hearing you speak your language will eventually help him/her learn it.

Reference:

Eisenchlas, S . (2016). Raising Bilingual Children. Retrieved from http://raisingchildren.net.au/articles/bilingual_children.html

download.png

Shoutout to @dmilliz, as per your request. I hope I am able to help you with this post. Thank you for your suggestion.
dmiliz.png

divider-2154993_960_720.jpg

Click the link to join our Discord and meet our absolutely awesome founder, @dynamicgreentk.
Banners credit to @baa.steemit.


Join @ntowl 's writing class on DynamicSteemians Discord channel and learn more about producing quality content material. You may also be up for a challenge. Check her post: Ready to be brave, face the fire, and be famous? You might earn 2 SBI shares too!

"I'm on a mission to help more people become better bloggers, create quality content, and be successful on Steemit. And sometimes the best way to do that is by example." ~@ntowl

I am also a member and an ally of #SteemBulls Discord. We are a community of people who help each other in having our posts get noticed, read and appreciated.

So, come and join, and be inspired!!!
Check out posts by: @sarahdandridge, @ryl, @dangerousangel, @socialreformer,
@puregrace, @pkalra, @honeychum, @chireerocks, @udywriter,
@shanu, @lantracy, @emilyandy, @bunnychum

Vote @yabapmatt, @utopian-io, @ausbitbank, @steemed, @patrice, @themarkymark, @justyy @ocd-witness, @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @hr1, @cloh76.witness, @blocktrades, @mahdiyari, @curie, @emrebeyler, @liberosist and @pharesim as witnesses to let them know you support their work!

Thank you for reading!

rsz_1upvote_button.png

Sort:  

You got a 25.00% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Thank you very much!

This was an interesting read @evlachsblog..where I can from we atleastare speak 3 language.
Mother tongue and 2 national languages, English and Swahili.

ps; don't forget to source your images :)

Oh that's right. I usually have Image Source just below the image when the image is not mine. Thank you for pointing that out. I will edit it now.

What is your mother tongue? I only have two languages, Filipino and English. But I am learning Greek so I can at least converse with my in-laws.

Wow. That's a huge task, to learn another language I mean. In my country we have 43 tribes so 43 different languages :D
I am Kikuyu tribe , not that you'd know what that is haha.

In my country, we have 12 languages. I speak Tagalog, but its standardized form is the Filipino language, which is one of our two official national languages. The other one is English.

Yes, I put it upon myself to learn at least the conversational Greek so I can communicate with my husband's family. I love learning languages anyway and it is a great feeling to be able to read Greek as well. In case I don't understand the word, at least I can find it in the Greek-English dictionary to find the meaning of that word. I love it!!!

Thank you very much! I really appreciate this post. My wife is Japanese and we live in Japan with twins. Obviously Japanese is gonna be the language they pick up first. But I took your advise on making the kids watch nursery rhymes and reading more books to them and that has really helped them to pick up more English.
I want to make it an effort to only speak English at home but my wife isn’t that good at English. Sometimes I end up using Japanese too because it’s easier for everyone to understand quickly but I just have to get out of the habit and stick with English and immerse them in the language. Thank you very much for this post. I’m gonna re-read this couple times well. Very well written

I am glad that you found my posts related to language learning helpful. It's my absolute pleasure to contribute to the Steemit community this way, by sharing what I have learnt from my teaching experience and my own literacy learning as well. I hope that when I become a parent myself, I will be able to put all my advice into practice.

Thank you for your comment.

I choose Chinese as a second foreign language for my kids

Great choice. China is a superpower and there will be plenty of opportunities in the future for your children to use Mandarin.

Yes! Learn Chinese! You will not regret it. My wife is learning Mandarin as well.

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

let's visit our colleagues blog all, do not give up to all our colleagues @ zuhrafriska

Your comment is considered a spam. Please refrain from doing this to others if you don't want to get flagged. Please leave valuable feedback or stay away from my posts. Thank you.

The same damn spammer hit up my post today too smh lol

To flag or not to flag? That is the question.

Too many roaches, not enough Raid..

Some roaches are very resilient. 😆

@smartbot tip @evlachsblog 1

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 6100 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards everytime i am paid to resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

1 SMART = 0.04 SBD

How To Use SmartCash?

Σ$$$ Tipped @evlachsblog Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.143 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.14 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67