You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why being political is a very personal thing. The story of the Russian Germans - from my family's point of view. Part one.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Most of the time, history is written by the winners. I think instead that history books should be written from the perspective of real witnessings like yours. My grandfather was a known musician, in the north east of Italy, and he's been killed with a bullet on his head in an ambush by communist partisans right after the second war and you make me revive those stories whispered between my family members (these events have always been like a sort of taboo for my father). I felt like being immersed in the many contradictions of the xx century from a priviledged point of view.. thank you @erh.germany for this gem and thanks for your final thoughts about the family, the memory, the core of our society and also of our system of values.

Sort:  

I appreciate it a lot that you "came over" to read the article.
Myself = a little lazy in the recent days.

Yes, you are quite right, history is written by "winners" ... and also ... when one thinks about it, it is written by scholars and academics because average people who do not have access to the official educational institutions do give their stories through word of mouth from parents to children. I hope that many average stories are going to be told. So, literature and autobiographies are hopefully filling the gaps which are being left by academia.

It touches me what you say about your family and I am interested in your (hi)story as well. Are there any sources where you can dive a little deeper and take the pieces together? It's not easy to be the investigator of ones own family stories but I think it's really worth it to be more understanding between the generations:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80