You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coding in Schools

Firstly, I don't know crap about coding.
Secondly this:

, expecially if you do not know what they're putting into their products behind the scenes

That and the rest of that part really got me thinking... Do I want to download more apps and keep the ones I have?
Paranoia settling in, in ..3...2...1...
:p

Anothing thing is I had no idea that coding was taught at school.

I am going to have to reread your post when I am not so tired to get all the benefits from what you wrote. I've learned new things but I know I can learn more without having a tired brain.

Sort:  

Great, @foxyspirit. I'm glad you learnt something and I hope you're not disappointed when you read it with an awake brain. I had to chuckle at your opening statement. So blunt! Well done!! Yeah, coding is becoming really big in schools now. I'm a high school teacher, so I can't comment conclusively, but I'm pretty sure that most schools now begin with some real easy and introductory stuff as low as Reception. There's a huge need for people who can code in the workforce today, and it's only getting bigger.

Just today, I read that the most sought after employees in the US are Web Developers, and about 3000 of the jobs advertised were paying $100, 000 plus. There's big money in coding.

Thanks for reading.

Ok now that I read it over, there are a couple of things that come to mind. One is being that I see how it is beneficial because of the demand, the fun etc. All those good points. But the other thing that I am seeing is a little bit alarming. Now I get that the world is advancing more and more into technology which is the reason why the need for coders is like almost urgent, but is no one seeing that it is getting too carried away? Don't we need people to be a little less on the electronic devices and actually getting out into the real non digital world? I mean They are teaching coding at school because of how high the need is but does that not ring the alarming bells some more? Creating good little work soldiers (slaves) by teaching them ahead of time in school? Yes all we can do is follow along with time and advance with the world. Maybe I don't see it like the rest of the people out there. But I would rather my kids feel like they can do much more than what the government plans out for them. Teaching a certain subject because of the government needing people to do their little jobs and dirty work sounds wrong and alarming to me. Even if it pays good money I think that the need to unglue the faces to the screens is more important.
I get that you are a teacher and there are things that you cannot say/discuss and honestly I really respect that and I respect what you do. You are also doing what you have to do. This is me giving a point of view from as outsider. I wouldn't want you to say something that goes against many things and have you get in trouble or something. These are just my thoughts.
Often I bring these thoughts to other people and no one wants to interact with me. Seeing my 7 yr old in grade 1 using a tablet in school isn't what I agree with much seeing as I don't even let my kids have them at home. And everything that has to do with a screen is limited. I don't even pay for tv services. And the funny thing about all that is, as parents, we are not even told what is going on in the classrooms. We are told about what they are learning like math, science etc but not told how and I have been shut down when I asked what their techniques were so that I can continue the same thing at home when my child needs help with homework. Parents are having rights taken away more and more when it comes to sending them to school.
Ok I gotta stop there. This will turn out to be a discussion on a different train track if I continue lol.
Not disappointed in your post, just with how the world is going.

Hey, @foxyspirit. I completely understand how you feel. I have two young children of my own, and they are already learning a balance between using screens (no matter the size) and being outside. Thankfully, they do enjoy the latter, and I find I'm getting more fresh air these days too.

If a balance can be struck, I think that coding for a career is fine. It's not really any different to, say 60 years ago where people would be stuck in offices, writing data like crazy onto pieces of paper (or however they did it!). They were just using a different medium to achieve a similar outcome. Again, a work/life balance is the key to it.

Thanks for actually returning and commenting. I appreciate you taking the time.

I like to engage in conversation with people. It's the why to connect and where I live there are very little people to do that with. Steemit is a great place for that ^_^

I get that it is has its pros. I think that it does help create more jobs for people. I also see that the government has taken away certain things to gear people towards the governments personal agenda. For example, there is no longer any art classes where I live. The creativity is to be done at home. Once in grade 1, the lunches breaks are longer but there is no 2nd break. Pushing on more focus on work, and what they want you to learn. If perhaps there would be a way to know the child and find what makes that kid thrive instead of focusing on what the jobs are out there and teaching them only certain skills for the work force, the world would perhaps be happier? I could be wrong, I am not all knowing. These are just things that I am seeing more since I have become a mother.
Some schools have changed in other countries that are just simply amazing! But I cannot understand why they cannot do the same here.

All in all, the world is advancing at a fast pace and no matter what, we need to follow or we will fall behind. Not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing.
As long as we don't fall into a scene like the movie Terminator LOL :D :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63861.47
ETH 3215.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84