Did You Know?!. . . about Bacon Bomb

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Bacon bomb is not a recipe that I will be sharing today. During World War II, bacon is used as a bomb. We know that bacon is consist of 65% percent of fat that fat was used to create bomb.

The oil that comes from frying bacon was collected. One pound of fat supposedly contained enough glycerin to make about a pound of explosives. Glycerin alone is not an explosive substance it have to be turn into nitroglycerin.

But what is glycerin?

Gylcerin

also known as "glycerol"
It is a neutral, sweet-tasting, colorless, thick liquid which freezes to a gummy paste and which has a high boiling point. Glycerin can be dissolved into water or alcohol, but not oils

Another fun facts about glycerin that they are "hygroscopic" which means that it absorbs water from the air. So what will happen is that if it was expose into thin air it will absorb the moisture. Also if 100% glycerin touches your skin it will have blister since it is dehydrating.

I am really amaze on how bacon can use for explosive and luckily enough I found step by step tutorial on how to make it. I found this post and video with the finish product. Cool!

Brb! I'll try it myself! :)


Sort:  

good to know it's danger. Quite interesting fact. :D

Glycerin is also commonly used in pharmaceuticals. Now we learn something. Thanks for sharing @grazz. Steem on!

@grazz but bacon is life! :) Thanks for sharing it!

I don’t eat bacon.

Do you plan on making one? Where would you trigger it? I prefer the bacon than the bomb. Haha

You eat the bacon I'll get the grease and make this post possible :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60