That's Edutainment: Using images to spark student learning.

In my World History class, I truly enjoy the challenge of teaching some very complex topics to my 14 and 15 year old students. As I have mentioned before, this challenge is heightened by the fact that my students Learn Differently (that is what I think "L.D." should stand for) than their peers. One of the most challenging topics we study is the causes and results of 19th and 20th Century Imperialism.





If you just read that last sentence, your eyes rolled back in your head, and you are frantically trying to click to another post, then you are like 90% of my students. But I assure you, it doesn’t need to be too complex or boring.

Here’s how I attempt to teach my student about Imperialism… without them going into a boredom induced trance.

As always, I start with an image.



Screen Shot 2018-03-07 at 5.13.54 PM.png

I ask my students what is going on in the animation (it’s actually a gif from animationfactory.com).

They very quickly connect the image to bullying. After they do, I toss them a curve ball. I say, “Now imagine it’s not people who are bullying each other… but entire countries.”

Now that they have the basic idea, I share with them this more scholarly definition.

Imperialism: A policy of extending a country's power and influence through colonization, use of military force, or other means. (Oxford dictionary)

From there, my students and I exam that definition and put it in their own words. They usually end up with something like:

Imperialism: a strong nation tries to overtake/dominate another country politically, militarily, economically or socially

It clicks. They get it.

From there I use more images to spark their knowledge about the reasons countries would want to dominate others.


Screen Shot 2018-03-07 at 5.25.54 PM.png
This is a sample of the images I use to spark a conversation about the economic reasons for imperialism.

With a little guidance, the students are able to identify and discuss the economic inspirations for countries to acquire valuable raw materials as well as new markets in which to sell their products.

Next, I display images that help students to figure out that countries have political and military reasons to want to control other nations. Here is an example:




I use this picture to spark a conversation about what these countries could possibly build on the coasts of Africa.

In order to help them to understand the social reasons, I love to show this Far Side cartoon.





From here, I am usually able to get several of my students to recall their prior knowledge of Charles Darwin’s idea of “survival of the fittest”. Even if they are unaware of who Darwin is, they always understand the concept that strong animals dominate weaker ones.

Once that is established, it is rather easy for my students to understand that sometimes countries felt that they are the strongest and deserve to dominate others (Social Darwinism).

Although this group discussion is very lively and engaging, the follow up activity is even more valuable.

The following day, I ask my students to apply what they have learned from our discussion. I present them with several political cartoons and advertisements from the late 1800’s and early 1900s.

As the students study the images, I ask them to look for examples of the topics we discussed the day before. I also ask them to provide evidence to support their claims. Here are a few examples:


Screen Shot 2018-03-07 at 5.50.12 PM.png

The students really seem to enjoy the “puzzle” aspect of this activity. Most of them try to see if they can find creative ways that the concepts are illustrated in the cartoons. If students are struggling, I can pair them with another student. If this doesn’t work, I can work with them one on one.

Not only does this lesson help prepare the students to study World War I, it also allows them to apply their knowledge of Imperialism to both historical and current events.

Images

Great Britain in Africa
Mall
Africa
Far Side
White Man's Burden
Octopus
Globe
Animals
The bully, man with money bags, wolf and oil rig are all gifs from animation factory.

Sort:  

I love this! We just finished working through WWII in my Social Studies 10 class.
That Africa picture is awesome! When I was teaching WWI, I just show them this image showing the Berlin Conference, but yours is way more fun.

Your image is also incredible useful. For your image, I might add blank word bubbles and maybe some blank text boxes. In the text boxes they could write the name of each person or country they represent. Then have them imagine what they would say in the word bubbles.

That's an awesome idea! I've been doing a see/think/wonder visible thinking routine but I love the speech bubbles idea.
Thanks!

I would love to see a post about how you use "see/think/wonder".

Challenge accepted! It's my spring break starting this weekend so I'll have some free time that I won't know what to do with.

Oh I like that "see/think/wonder". That can translate to all of the pictures I use all year long. And it has the two of my favorite words in it "think" and "wonder".

And it can include everyone.

Thanks!

The key to teaching is presenting facts and information from different angles to cater to different learning styles. You do a good job with the pictures to stimulate their minds in different ways and make it more approachable to students. I'm also betting switching up the media methods is a good way to have it stick better in their memory. I'm going to have to figure out how to work more imagery into my computer science class.

Do you know about @steemiteducation? We are trying to support educational content here. If you have a chance check it out and see if you are interested in it.

No, but I am checking it out right now.

Oh man I was just checking out your blog. I am so bummed we did not see your posts. Your classroom ones are perfect for the project!

The board games one... awesome!
Snap... awesome!

Thank you! Nicest thing anybody has said about my blog. I want to get back to my classroom ones, I just ran out of easy material for a bit. By project are you referring to @steemiteducation?

Yes. We are trying to reward as much educational content as we can. Your posts are really well done.

Thank you for the compliment. I had to take a little break from posting because of life, but I've got inspired for a new educational post, so it was a good break.

As a former history teacher, I "get it". My kids were in the grade range of 8-12. It was small school that was set up to meet the needs of children who could not function in a mainstream environment. Images were essential. Not just images, but gimmicks. I was shameless. Global Studies can bring tears of boredom to a child's eyes. So I acted out scenes from history. Government is another attention tester. We rearranged furniture to approximate the three branches of government. I was accused by fellow teachers of having a noisy classroom, but never charged with having kids who didn't achieve. This is a great blog. No matter the student, or the environment, a teacher has to find a way to communicate.

a teacher has to find a way to communicate.

that is the KEY. Yes. Sounds like you knew how to reach your students!

I miss it. Besides raising my own children, best job I ever had :)

Aw. Real teachers do miss their students, I know.

@hanshotfirst
First of all very appreciate you that you are teacher ..
The second is history .
Huh i am very weak in history just got passing marks always
The reason is the most difficult words .
But i like your style i am very appreciate you for this .
Keep going on . teaching is very good and interesting passion .
Best of luck

I love the way you teach your kids. I wish we learned this way when I was in school. I most likely would have paid attention and learned something.

Building slowly to include more complex ideas, especially for LD kids , is difficult but you've certainly got the talent for it. I actually learned and understood imperialism. Go figure. Never too old to learn.

Teachers should not fear going off plan if a better learning opportunity presents itself. Plans are plans, but children are living, breathing, creative people, who deserve to have their questions answered and original ideas explored. The important thing is to present facts visually , it helps in better remembering of the facts.

Yes! My favorite part of any lesson is when the kids think of something I hadn't or ask a question that can't easily be answered.

you spark the moment and that's where the great things begin

I don't think anyone can explain it in a way better than u!!
The way u explained it is quite amazing!!
This actually is a kind of innovative idea of attracting students towards one of the boring subjects in all time!!
I still remember my school days when teacher used to teach is history n I was like zzzz zzzz lol!
Once a bond is established between a teacher n student then it becomes easy for a student to understand as well as teacher also enjoys to deliver his lecture!!!
I wish in our country we had the kind of teachers just like u are!!
Amazing work n those students r damn lucky to have a wonderful teacher like u!!!
Hope u keep this good work going!!!

I am not very good with History but I just think you are an excellent teacher with true passion for your job and compassion for your kids - my hat off to you. My mom is also a teacher and I have the utmost respect for what you guys do

images help a lot to understand it better as a teacher you are doing great things :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67411.34
ETH 3684.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75