Dtube Vlog: Simple & Fun Experiments At Home | Neutralization of Acid and Base

in #steemiteducation5 years ago (edited)


Hello everyone!

It's @happycrazycon and @littledrummerboy again. We are sick! But we decided we have to do something to cheer ourselves up instead of feeling all gloomy!

What we bring to you today is based on the principle of the neutralization of acid and base. I have been revising this chapter all over again with my students in Chemistry Science. They actually got very fed up with all the equations but I am trying to insert some fun for them. So, I tried this at home first before I go to them.

First Experiment - Volcano Making!

It's just baking soda mixed with apple cider vinegar that's added with a drop of red colouring to enhance the effect. The neutralization reaction releases carbon dioxide gas which resulted in the bubbling.

This experiment is something @littledrummerboy is very familiar with, and everytime he watches someome else doing it, he says, "I have done it before!"

Second Experiment - Writing and Revealing a Secret Message

There are many ways of writing a secret message, including using heat to reveal. What we are doing is preparing 1 part of baking soda to 2 parts of water as the invisible ink.

Leave it to completely dry. Best to leave overnight, if can.

Then, use grape juice (as concentrate as possible) as the pH indicator to paint over the whole picture.

What happened is:

The message will appear in a different color. The grape juice acts as a pH indicator that changes color when it reacts with the sodium bicarbonate of baking soda, which is a base. Source

I read somewhere that the baking soda which is also called the sodium bicarbonate breaks the cellulose of the paper too. Baking soda is good to use because it is safe for children. Grape juice has very mild acetic acid so it is not corrosive for children to handle too.

21990e78-cb52-4e7f-a954-8860b0006a4f_untitled.png
Image Source

Okay I am on the hunt of looking for easy experiments to do at home to induce scientific learning at home, though I don't know how much he can absorb in now, more for the fun of it. I too enjoy myself as I used to be very enthusiastic about experiments. Sometimes they fail too, like I have been finding different grape juice, hopefully to reveal the message better.

Forgive my look and my covered up voice because of the facial mask. Maybe it made us look more like a mad scientist.

Are there experiments you do at home with your children? Share with me, I am so interested to know!!!!

Thank you for watching. I do hope the next time when we meet again, we are no longer sick. Sorry for the lighting of the video, as I wanted to minimize mess, so we did the volcano in the balcony and then we proceeded with the rest of the video at night, which we don't have very good lighting at home.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Nice ideas to take the young one's mind off of being under the weather or as you might say, "sick".

Yeah it's also to take my mind off. I hate being "incapable" and just lying down for 2 days like a piece of meat. Hahah. We are much better today. Thanks, @sultnpapper :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Aaaaand until today I still keep delaying the boys plan of volcano. Haha. Abit hesitant but one day I must do it with the boys. You have just inspired me to "just do it".. Haha. You know I prefer doing art with them. Dance or silly with them or books. Coz less mess. Well, guess being messy is part of parenthood. Thank you sharing two-part experiments with us.

Levi is so loud at the end! Haha

The volcano one can do in the toilet. Hahhaha. Don't use the red colouring then lesser mess, so just baking soda mix with the vinegar. I did ours in the toilet once too, and I make sure I use tallER containers so it won't spill out. Else can lay newspapers on the hall floor.

I kept doing the same experiment until I also sien, only one boy not sien, so I tried to look for new ones already. I sometimes also get lazy, I agree that art is the easiest. Craft sometimes also creates mess. Not too good with art and craft so gotta look for more ideas from you Hehe!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to happycrazycon! This bot is managed by Kiwibot and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

I have done the secret msg by using lime juice then kinda (almost) burn it afterward then the msg shows! This one is new for me :D

Hahaha hello @waybeyondpadthai! I know the lemon juice trick too! But I was scared to risk it in front of a video and with my boy who is super keen to play with fire now. Lol. I also found this recently though it isn't too obvious eh? I know there's another way to do it, which is to iron over the wordings too. Yet to try that too.

Thank you so much for coming by! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Experiments are such a great way to encourage the love of learning! I found especially at this age (my boys are 3&5) when they are so naturally curious about the world!

Thanks for making this video even though you not feeling great- I’m definitely going to try the secret message one with my kids! Do you think wine would have a better effect maybe?

Hope you feel better soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahah coincidentally my son is also very intrigued into learning because he is also 3!!!

Oooh wine, I gotta check on the acidic content but no harm trying. Can you please let me know after you try @wildwanderer? :) I'm curious to learn a new thing too!

We are already better today! ☀️ Thank you for your kind wishes!

Posted using Partiko Android


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

I love experiments. But I have not done a volcano)))

Haha it's easy. Just add baking soda and vinegar together, then voila!!! Hope you get to try it for fun too one day, @amalinavia! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87