The Chronicles of a Teacher #11: The Day When I Cried Like a Baby

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

DSC_8146 (1).jpg

Still smiling, before all the tears

One week ago, I posted about preparing my graduation speech for my beloved students. I spent about an hour just preparing and editing my final graduation speech for them. When I finally completed it, I realized it was almost 5 pages long on Google Docs! Waking up this morning was a little bittersweet; I kept telling myself that I will do just fine, and most importantly, I will not cry. Boy, I was dead wrong about the latter part!

IT IS TRULY THE DAY WHEN I CRIED LIKE A BABY!

It took literally less than 3 minutes before I started crying, and I asked for tissues. Eventually, all the graduates and their parents were in tears too. It is really a small Grade 5 community, and this year, we have four graduates for today's event. Anyway, here is my speech!

I stand here today in disbelief that it has been one year enjoying teaching and learning with all Grade 5 Graduates today. I still remember how I stood and gave my very first presentation during the Open Day in front of all parents, convincing all of you in every way possible that your child will be in good hands this academic year.

AND I hope that all Grade 5 parents have observed big, positive changes in your child’s learning progress in this school. Please know that it is not only what I have done as your child’s head teacher, but it is the accumulation of relentless effort and time from all specials teachers, Thai staff, and of course, the leadership team here - PLUS the willingness to learn from your child, to accept new learning opportunities and challenges with open minds and hearts.

To all my Grade 5 Graduates, thank you for all the crazy good times together. Like I said, ONE YEAR?! Time flies. We also had our moments where we were challenged in different academic and social situations, not so good times, BUT definitely these moments serve as good life lessons. To know that mistakes happen, and what’s more important is our response and attitude to these mistakes. All sorts of feelings, you name it, we have had it all. But hey, that is life. I am glad that we experience all these moments here together, because it made you a better student, and it made me a better teacher.

Alright, time for some nuggets of joy and wisdom from Ms. Cally, for each and every one of you. Are you ready? Let’s do this.

Dave (not a real name), you have such a tender heart, and a super shy character. Sometimes, I ask myself if I challenge you too much or too soon, but all that I know is that I want to see you, Dave, stand proud and confident with what you have to offer, before you move up to the next grade level. I was anticipating THE DAY where you would just be so bold, so brave to stand up and volunteer without me trying to convince you.

AND Dave, you know, I know, in this term, Term 2, you rock, boy! I am super duper proud of you, and how you have grown so much this year from Day 1. I also want to tell you how crazy proud I was, when I saw you taking that first step to go outdoors playing soccer with your friends under the hot sun, ON YOUR OWN!

Melissa (not a real name) oh Melissa. I see you as the class member who consistently offers acts of kindness in the class. You also have a creative soul. Just full of talents. You sing, you dance. The way you present ideas, the way you think of plan B, the way you communicate with younger children. Your imagination are just amazing, and I am very sure all other teachers will agree with me on this. I truly admire your patience and empathy that you have shown throughout this academic year. I remember that very hug you gave to me, when I was really, really sad and heartbroken in the classroom.

That speaks loudly about your character, please NEVER EVER LOSE THAT SPARKLE. No matter where life takes you, never ever let anyone steal that sparkle from you. It is your golden star, Melissa! Mmmm, one more thing, I also love how you and Natalie (not a real name) plan my wedding, the wedding gown, the wedding flowers and even, my hairstyle for the day.

Aidan (not a real name), your knowledge about animals, well especially about turtles and fishes, is just beyond words. It made me wonder about how can such a young boy knows so much about all these?! But you know what, that one annoying thing Ms. Cally always tell you… you are capable of so many things - AND I know you can do it. So many times, I have seen you doubting yourself, and your true potential - and I had to annoy you, remind you that YOU CAN DO IT.

On top of that, I enjoy laughing with you over some silly jokes that sometimes your other friends don’t get it. This year, I have seen how you have shown perseverance in different situations, and you know what, I am going to say this again, Aidan, YOU CAN DO IT. Even when you make a mistake, do it again and never give up. Aidan, all the experts in the world, they were all once just beginners - just like you, me and all your friends too. One day, Aidan, you will be an expert.

Natalie, I know you like this sound, meow. You are so full of big, lighthearted personalities. Day in, day out, I am just amazed by you. When you first started in our class, you were a little shy, probably adjusting to this teacher, that looks like Thai but not Thai. As we move along our journey, I can see that you are adapting to my huge expectations, because well you know, Ms. Cally’s standards for her students are high - simply because we can all grow together to be better, to do better. If not now, then when?! For every project, you strive for every drop of perfection, and I know you will get disappointed when it turns out to be different. Natalie, keep your standards high, keep your pride low, stay humble, keep your minds and hearts open for mistakes and unexpected things to happen too. Just take it positively, and soon enough, people will be encouraged, influenced by you.

I am going to miss how you nag me to sharpen the pencils, add new erasers, and so many more. Well, who knows maybe we can still meet at the mall every Wednesday, and Melissa and you can tell me lots of exciting stories about your new school?

Moving forward, I also want to take time to thank all Grade 5 Parents for your trust, support and loving kindness throughout this year. Travelling to a foreign country is not easy, just being away from my family and friends back in Malaysia, has been quite testing. I really could not have done it without all of you. Thank you for making my first year in this school a memorable one. I hope that you have been blessed with this year’s experiences, and someday we will meet again. It is a small world after all. I also hope that when we meet again, you can share with me amazing successes that your child has accomplished in the coming years.

DSC_8312 (1).jpg

DSC_8365 (1).jpg

Reggio-inspired displays for today's event - it took hours to complete this... :)

heartscally_divider.png

Thank you for reading my updates/post today! :)

heartscally signature.gif

heartscally circle icon.jpeg

steemiteducation.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

These moments are beautiful.

I know right... Thanks for dropping by!

Awww. Such a beautiful speech, @heartscally. I love how you get personal with your students and address them one by one. It shows your efforts of really getting to know them. What great privilege they have, having you as their head teacher 💕

Thank you, @happycrazycon! I cannot believe it has been a year!!!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Your experience and speech really suits today's daily freewrite prompt - one year.

Congratulations to you MsCally and all your students. Indeed, there were lots of good memories accumulated throughout the days. I know deep in my heart all of them have been shaped into a better person under your guidance and influence. More to come, Cally. and more moments like this to cry as a baby :) love you heaps.

Oh, I was not aware of the prompt, hehe. Thank you, @iamjadeline! More to come, I need more boxes of tissues. :D

Your post has been selected as the @steemiteducation Post of the Day:)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the #steemiteducation tag in the post itself.

Thanks a million! :)

What a lovely speech! You really connected so well with your students and I can see that you really are passionate about teaching them. Your tears are simply a visual aid of how much love and patience you put in to helping these kids. Well done teacher!

Thank you, @sweetpea for your kind words! We teachers sure know how difficult it would be to be delivering those words hey. :)

What a special moment for a teacher! :)

A teacher can be a child turning point in life. I became a teacher because of another teacher who had taught me when I was in Primary school. Even though we were the low progress class, she made the lesson fun for us through jokes. You have made a significance impact!

Wow!!! That's so good to know, @fun2learn! Thank you for dropping by :)

The beautiful day and moment as a teacher. You are the role model to be a good teacher not just teaching, but the relation with students.

Thank you, @bboyady! It was really a bittersweet day.

You welcome. Yes it is a bittersweet moment.

What a beautiful speech! At the first glace of your speech, I had to re-check the first part to confirm that you're a teacher or a friend of them. Your type of teachers is kinda hard to find today. I bet they had the happiest year of their school life :)

Aww, thank you for your kind words! Though I am about the same height with them, but yes, I am their teacher, hehehee!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67623.71
ETH 3786.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70