The Chronicles of a Teacher #8: That One Mind-Blowing Question from Your Students

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

clay-banks-258326-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Teachers, how would you respond to this conversation from your students?

Julia (not a real name): Hey Jessie. Miss Cally said, that we only have FOUR WEEKS left before we graduate from fifth grade, before our summer holidays! We are going to lose another nice teacher. AND.. We are going to a new school for sixth grade!
Jessie (not a real name): No, she is NOT a nice teacher. She is a good teacher.
Julia: Well, it is the same. She is nice, and she is good too.
Jessie: NO! It is not the same! A nice teacher is not a good teacher, but a good teacher is always nice.
Julia: Let us ask Miss Cally!!!
Jessie & Julia: MISS CALLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Honestly, I was not expecting that one mind-blowing question from my students on a Monday morning, slightly after my regular coffee cup(s). It is true that the current academic year is coming to an end, and I am ever grateful for this first year of working abroad. It was not all happy times, definitely - BUT it is definitely rewarding. When Julia and Jessie asked me THE question, it then dawned on me that I literally have four more weeks with these lovely bunch!

I responded this way...

Miss Cally: Jessie, what makes you think that way? Why would you say, that a nice teacher is not a good teacher?
Jessie: Miss Cally, I think a nice teacher will always be nice to us. But you are not nice, you correct us when we do something unkind or something wrong. So, you are a good teacher, because we know you want the best for us, even when we make mistakes.
Julia: Mmmm... Yeah, that sounds quite true.
Miss Cally: ((thinking and maybe, daydreaming))
Jessie: If Miss Cally is always nice to us, then she will be nice and let us do everything, all the good and bad things too. And we won't realize our mistakes, because Miss Cally won't warn us or advise us - because she is "too nice".
Julia: Ohhhh.... Miss Cally, are we right?
Miss Cally: I really love your thinking, and I admire how much you both have grown over the last 11 months here in this class with me. A nice teacher, a good teacher, I feel that different people will have different meaning to it, but based on your explanation and definition, I am pretty sure you are the right track! Maybe someday, you will find bigger meaning to it. And thank you for letting me be the good teacher, I know I am firm sometimes. So, shall I give more homework today?
Jessie & Julia: NOOOOOOOO!

This question was lingering in my mind for a couple of days, and I was in search for answers. I asked several colleagues and of course, I asked Mr. Google. LIKE DUH~ Many of them were, first and foremost, amazed with the above conversation after I shared with them. I also thought to myself, I should really post this up on Steemit and get more perspectives about this. On a side note, I spent close to 75 minutes talking to one of my closest colleague, and it was such an interesting conversation. We both finally concluded that above the argumentative question, the overriding question that we should be asking ourselves is...

What kind of teacher do you wish to be remembered as?

Karl Menninger quotes that, "What a teacher is, is more important than what he teaches." Essentially, this extends to just basically, life too. What kind of person do you wish to be remembered as? What kind of parent do you wish to be remembered as? What kind of friend do you wish to be remembered as? What kind of neighbour do you wish to be remembered as? What kind of leader do you wish to be remembered as? And the list goes on...

Come on y'all, come and share your perspectives about my post today. Thank you for reading my post today!

heartscally signature.gif

heartscally circle icon.jpeg

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

It seems that you have really made an impact to your students. Great job @heartscally and keep it up! There still a lot of students coming your way, and continue to shine. :)

Always begin with the end in mind. Once you have a clear picture of what you wanted, you can now plot specific course of actions that will make your goals a reality.

That's a superb nugget of wisdom here, @shoganaii! :D Thanks for your support!

Hahaha I like you LA, Miss Cally!!! You are both a nice and good teacher! :) one who goes extra miles and think of how to make learning so happy too :)

I guess I want to be remembered as the teacher/tutor who didn't only teach but also listened and have solid conversations with them so some life values can be set even after I'm gone from their lives. If that is possible :)

Awesome response you have here, @happycrazycon, and I am very sure you ARE already one. :)

wow! very nice. You are not just a good teacher, you are an effective teacher! keep up the good work.

Thank you for your kind words here! :)

Hi @heartscally! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @myach!

@myach wrote lately about: Feel free to follow @myach if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Haha, a good teacher that is nice to give a lot of homework! That sounds great for the students 😂

HAHAHAAA, they know I was just joking! :D

Kids are clever and streetwise ;)

WOO what important and effective information in our life, I congratulate you excellent post.

Thank you for dropping by here. :)

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Your post has been featured on TeamMalaysia TehTarik Sundays . Here is a tip!

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

You are a good, nice and smart teacher Ms.Cally! I love how u always impact ur students just by being who you are. Such powerful women! :) I think for me, i wish to be remembered as someone who is courageous. Someone who will step out from the comfort zone/go the extra mile to do what she needs to do, despite feeling afraid. :)

Awww, you're always kind to meeeeeee. And that sure is a beautiful way to be remembered! You go girl! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69768.04
ETH 3884.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73