How to be considerate is one of the most important lessons to learn in life.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Human beings are selfish creatures.

There's nothing wrong with being selfish.

Selfish simply means we are interested in taking care of ourselves.

That's a good thing.


Source: Pixabay.com

However, there is certainly such a thing as being too self centered.

When people say that somebody is being selfish this is what they usually mean.

We are all guilty of it to a small degree on occasion. That's human nature.

Having said that, it's important to realize that we all live together on this world.

If you keep your eyes open you can usually see several examples of someone being selfish throughout the course of your day.

On the other hand, you can also see several examples of people that go out of their way to help other people.

There's a balance.

This morning my roommate decided to do some laundry. He had to be at work very early.

I didn't have to wake up until 9:00 but the dryer started going off at 7:00 this morning.

Our dryer is right next to my room and it is literally impossible to sleep with the dryer going off because it constantly makes a banging sound against the wall.

Therefore, I'm really tired because I didn't get enough sleep and work was quite difficult today.

The same roommate has helped me out on a couple of different occasions though. I know that he is not a self centered person but he was certainly being selfish this morning.

I have another roommate that likes to cook spicy Asian food at 3:00 in the morning.

There is literally no good reason for that other than being selfish. He knows we're all sleeping and it bothers everyone. He could just make something that doesn't smell very strong instead.

Living together is a definite situation where being considerate comes into play.

Of course, as I said earlier we all live together on this planet so each one of us must take the other person's feelings into consideration.

When I'm working at my restaurant I sometimes wonder how my workmates are doing.

If they're overloaded then I will help them out.

They help me out also.

That's not to say that we all don't have our days when we are being quite selfish.

It happens.

However, as you get older you learn to appreciate the niceties of being considerate.

How to be considerate is one of the most important lessons to learn in life.

Sort:  

Where have I seen this before? Every roommate situation I have been in , or heard about. Good luck, jeezzle.
You're roommates are lucky to have you.

Thank you. I look forward to the day when I can afford to live without roommates.

Hi. Be selfish I have read several books about the selfish gene. Friend that is in our genes.
We also learned to be from the context. Our parents lived for us without knowing how they gave us and pleased their wishes.
I can only tell you that agreements must exist within a community. It is not a question of helping each other when the other needs it, that is companionship. What I tell you is to make a contract where everyone agrees on when to do things and when not. I lose my freedom when I interrupt my neighbor's.

Friend, reach agreements and fulfill them.

This is true. Thank you for your comment.

very nice sir.
restemeed and upvote.. :)

Thank you.

When we live in community we must always act in the greatest benefit for all, for a better coexistence we must establish rules by which to govern in order to live in peace and harmony. Consideration and respect are basic when living together, either at home or at work. Much success.

I agree.

My husband has gotten in the habit of cooking bacon in the early hours when I'm asleep. Wakes me up every time. I think being woken up by food cooking at odd hours is my biggest pet peeve these days.

I think I remember you telling me about this. It really sucks being woken up by the smell of food sometimes.

Hi!
Worked in an office environment forever. Unfortunately, only about one out of five can even define consideration.
Selfish they understand.
Hate to be negative but that is what I have observed.
Has made me want to be more considerate. Maybe it will rub off.

That's a great attitude. I bet it will.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Hi. It sounds good. the interesting thing is to turn it into Spanish. Excuse me if I wait too long.

Congratulations. vote for your proposal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68