Random Review Problems in Strength of Materials

Hi folks!

Today, let me share my encounter last Saturday, wherein I was scrolling the My Day feature of Facebook Messenger. Actually, I got pissed off everytime new My Day pictures/videos that are created and it's not the content actually, it's that blue light surrounding the profile of Facebook user. And what I usually do with that is too press my phone to make all those My Days all viewed and to make the blue color surrounding the profile of a friend in Facebook disappear and while I was doing that I stumble upon a My Day in a form of status which says "Yield Point", I immediately commented "Differential Calculus?" then I wasn't contented I commented again with "Strength of Materials" and to the friend in Facebook which happens to be a Steemian which is @daisydelta replied with "Strength of Materials". And because of that, I asked her to send me some problems because that night I was a bit pissed off and need to find some outlet and to be honest, I always love solving mathematical and engineering problems even though I graduated two years ago, I still have some knowledge left in my tank. Well, that escalated too quickly and she sent a photo of problems and to my excitement I immediately pulled off my scientific calculator from the desk beside my bed.

So here are the problems of which I managed to solve, I'll be presenting the first out of four review problems.

A 30 meter aluminum bar is subjected to a tensile stress of 172 megapascal (MPa). Find the elongation, if modulus of elasticity (E) = 69,116 MPa.
Choices:

A. 7.46 cmB. 0.746 cmC. 0.007 mD. 4.76 cm

In solving this problem, you only need to use the formula in computing for the elongation/deformation of the material that is being applied with stress. And here is the formula:


Wherein:

  • δ is elongation or deformation, it can be in inches (in.) or in meters (m).
  • σ is the stress, it can be in pound force per square inch (psi) or in megapascal (MPa) or in gigapascal (GPa)
  • E is the modulus of elasticity, it can be in pound force per square inch (psi) or in megapascal (MPa) or in. gigapascal (GPa).

Using the aforementioned formula, the computation goes like this:


And thus I arrived at an answer of 0.0746 meters which is just equal to 7.46 centimeters and it happens to be found in the choices, which is letter A.

To make the story short of my encounter last Saturday, I solved the four problems real quick, not boasting though, and I managed to share my answers with @daisydelta. And by the way, the other 3 review problems will be presented in a separate blog posts.

I guess that would be all for the first item in the review problem that I unexpectedly obtain just because of that blue light thingy in Facebook Messenger's My Day which always pisses me off.

Thank you for spending your precious time reading this blog post of mine.


Much love and respect.


Ace | @josephace135

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by josephace135 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94