#steemiteducation -- ADHD -- Tips for parents and teachers.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

adhd-1.jpg

Bringing up a child who has ADHD is hard enough but when school is involved it can quickly become overwhelming handing your child over to someone who firstly doesn't know them and secondly may not have a clue about ADHD.

Things are better now than they used to be when my daughter was first diagnosed in 1997. ADHD was new to me never mind the teachers. A lot of people said it was poor parenting. I had fights with Drs, Psychologists and teachers, some knew about ADHD others didn't.

What I did was spend hours on the internet researching this, I also wanted to make sure when I handed my daughter over to a teacher they knew exactly how to handle her.

I found an online support group that had so much information I could print out. I decided to make a file so I could read in my own time, I also made a file of all the advice for teachers, hoping I could pass it to them to give them at least something to refer to.

sr_cp_adviceparents_700.jpg

  1. Make Guidelines and borderlines. Stick with them.
    Stick to timelines for everything, Bedtimes, fun time, wind down time, TV time,
    Sticking to times give these children the routine they need, they will know what's happening and what is next. As i found with my daughter saying we would go out at a certain time then be 5 minutes late would cause so many problems. I soon learned to say, we will be left the house by a certain time, giving me extra time to play with and not putting any pressure on her.

  2. Praise, Praise and more Praise.
    Giving these children praise for everything they do right gives them the boost they need as they are continually getting in trouble. The praise really matters.
    Well done for getting ready on time
    Well done for clearing there plates
    Well done for playing nice

  3. Ignore the little things, punish the bad.
    As in my daughters case she was very angry, violent and swore a lot. For me I put the swearing to one side, I ignored it. I did punish her for the violence and anger. As she would breaks things when she got angry. She would be violent towards us and friends when she got angry, they were things I needed to punish the swearing wasn't a big problem that hurt anyone.

  4. Giving instructions
    Don't give to many instructions, one at a time letting them follow that instruction before giving another as this can mess with there heads. To much information at once will cause problems.

  5. Raising your voice.
    Talking to them without raising your voice will help them to listen more, raised voices will confuse them plus possibly get them angry.

A structured home life with strong guide and borderlines will give help your child follow a routine making there life a lot easier to deal wit.

Teaching-Tips.jpg

  1. Sitting a child in class.
    Do not sit the child next to a window or door as there is far to much distraction. They are better sat in the front where the teacher can keep them involved in what's happening.

  2. Create a quite area.
    Creating a quite area (not for punishment) if the child is starting to get restless, a little quite time, reading, colouring in etc for a break could settle them enough to later involve back in class.

  3. Giving instructions.
    One instruction at a time, once that is completed then give another. Clear and precise instructions.

  4. Using signs.
    This really helps remind children what is happening.
    Shhhhh or Quiet time signs will remind the child every time they look up what they should be doing.
    Listen or Work Time signs will remind them to focus on the teacher.

  5. Praise & Punishment
    When the child does something right don't forget to praise. If you notice the child is starting to become restless, placing your hand on there shoulder will help them settle.

  6. Do not raise your voice to them
    A raised voice sounds like a telling off voice, this will upset them. Go to them, have a quiet word or again settle them with a lace of your hand on there shoulder.

  7. Keep the class active
    A dull boring class with nothing happening will make there minds wander make them restless but a class that is active with lots of interaction will keep them interested and focused.

ADHD children are very intelligent children, they need constant stimulation at home and at school. A great day at school makes a big difference at home, a bad day at school leads to frustration.

I gave a pack of Teacher Information to my daughters first teacher. She was over the moon with the information. I asked her to hand it to Jessica's new teacher but she decided to reprint them for every teacher in school. So every class she went to the teacher had already read the notes then they were prepared for her.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

A lot of what you said is very correct, my youngest son was diagnosed with adhd at the age of five, he’s now nineteen he’s no longer on any medication only because he won’t take it any more although as his dad the signs are still there, I’m with him all day long now because he works with me and sometimes you can tell that his Attention span and Concentration can be short from time to time although he’s not a bad lad just a bit cheeky. Thanks mike

My daughter was the same, she is 26 now diagnosed at 5, It was her choice to stop her meds, she still has a few problems but manages to sort them out herself :)

That's all good advice ;-)

I've worked with ADD and ADHD kids for years, and if you ask my dad he will probably tell you I was one of them way back before it had even been invented.

Back then I was diagnosed as being a naught little shit ;-)

To this day I have no idea how I (or my parents) survived my childhood.

The big problem with many of these kids is frustration - the world moves too slow for many of them. They can handle a lot more input than normal people.

They are pretty much all good kids. They just need things to be done differently for them. They need more challenge, more interaction than other kids.

Put the effort in and what you get back is a kids that is very very bright, passionate, hard working - a high achiever.

Use drugs to calm them down and solve the problem, and you get a drug addict.

You inherited it, when I was young I ate a lot of meals off the mantlepiece because my bum was too sore to sit on.

It does follow through the male side, i can def see you both having it lol

Not in our case. We tried everything with Jess, i even started the diet, poor thing couldn't have anything nice. Medication worked for Jess, she chose when she wanted to stop taking them. When she wasnt taking meds no one would play with her on medication she had a life. Now she is grown up she is handling her problems a lot better. The Medication doesn't make them high it gives them focus.

I'm glad the meds worked for you. I've seen it 'work' for a lot of kids as well in that it made them stop acting out, but they were just zombies.

And once they stopped causing problems, that was the end of it. They were left to fend for themselves.

I've also seen what can work of they get looked after by someone who understands what's going on in their heads (me). They do really well, (most of the time).

Sometimes you need the drugs to get them started, and then a helping hand to teach them how to cope with a world that just isn't working for them.

I've seen a lot of kids get stuck on the medication i.e. they will be taking meds for the rest of their lives, with no other attempt to solve the problem.

And in that, they are drug addicts. Without the drugs they can't cope at all. They become dependent on them.

And that's a tragedy.

I'm very glad things worked out for you though :-)

I have seen it from both ends, we didn;t give her meds on weekends pr holidays, we let her be herself even though those times nearly killed me lol

oh man @trevor.george can you help adults too? I was diagnosed with ADHD a few years ago and man does it make adulting HARD. I don't take meds

I can try ;-)

It's different for everyone and everyone needs to handle it differently.

If you like, message me on steemit chat @trevor,george and we can talk things though a bit and see what I can do to help you.

steemit educations, nice thinking,, wonderful post, people help a lot from this post

Thank you :)

This is excellent advice for all parents not only those who have children with ADHD. Kudos to you Karen for being a great parent! Looking back the more than 60 years of my schooling, I remember kids that now, would be diagnosed ADHD and life was a real hell for them. It was hard on everyone. Thank goodness there are support groups and doctors who understand how ADHD effects the kids, families and everyone around them!

Thank you, I was lucky to get a great psychologist, there are some that aren't very helpful at all.

I think that is true of every profession...

Thats' true :)

You have been defended with a 44.44% upvote!
I was summoned by @emjoe.

Thank you :)

Darn, I just now found this so I can't upvote it :(. I still want to say thanks for writing about ADHD! I was just diagnosed with ADHD 3 years ago at the age of 27.

I haven't found anyone else on steemit yet who has it! It's super tough to deal with as an adult, but not a lot of people understand it. Thanks for educating about it!

My daughter on here @jlou was diagnosed at 5 years old. She's not on here very often but you can always leave get a message and I'll let her know. She's 26 this year, she still has a hard time but handles it quite well.
I am always here if you need a chat :)

No more ADHD
Get relief products now www.medicine-purchase.com

Get 50 upvotes and your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84