Earth Experience - Middle Tennessee Museum of Natural History (77 Photos!)

One of the benefits of working for yourself is the ability to create your own schedule. This morning @corinnestokes decided to take the kids to a museum she heard about, and I took a break from work to join them.

From the outside, you'd never believe the Earth Experience had anything like this. In fact, it looks like a random warehouse.

I forgot to take a picture of the outside while we were there, but this Google street view image is what we saw. It's a non-profit run by all volunteers.





They have some amazing dinosaur fossils!





My son Devon absolutely loved it. He knew more about them then all of us, I think.





One of the things I learned was that petrified "wood" isn't really wood at all! Neither are what we consider dinosaur "bones". They are also petrified. It's really just rock, created through the process of permineralization:

Permineralization is a process of fossilization in which mineral deposits form internal casts of organisms. Carried by water, these minerals fill the spaces within organic tissue. Because of the nature of the casts, permineralization is particularly useful in studies of the internal structures of organisms, usually of plants.







These Crinoid stems come from a Crinoid which you can see in the sculpture above.






Here's another amazing example of petrified wood. It's pure stone!





It was amazing to see the work area where they may spend over a year restoring just one specimen.




Being able to actually touch the fossil remains of a dinosaur was pretty incredible.




I was surprised Devon knew all about this crystal cave when asked by our tour guide. He had seen a documentary about it at some point.





Their gem and mineral collection is amazing!







Remember the movie Jurassic Park? Our guide was showing us a piece of amber (fossilized tree resin) which had bugs trapped in it, just like the movie.



















They had a really cool topology demo using a special projector and sand. The kids really enjoyed playing with it. It was hard to drag them away to continue the tour!




I had no idea how some minerals glow under ultraviolet light. It was amazing to see!




I really enjoyed how much of it was hands on so the kids could feel what the different rocks and minerals are like.




Do you remember The Chelyabinsk Meteor?





Well, they have a piece of it on display!








Okay, you caught me. I was actually just taking a picture of @corinnestokes' cute butt right here. :)










They even had some radioactive minerals you could measure with a geiger counter.








The kids got some hands on experience with a jewelry maker working with the gems and mineral stones.







It was really quite beautiful.





This Tyrannosaurus Rex, of course, is the main attraction. It was found 80% complete, only missing the left leg. They were able to use molds from another find which was similar in size to reproduce it. The original fossils were taken to another location and actually put on display with some serious metal work to hold those massive fossils in place. Now that I understand how fossils are just stone copies of the original bone, I'm less concerned about which ones are the original. Stone is really heavy and hard to work with.












We learned a lot about how the molds are made. They put the fossilized rock into a cardboard box, then they pour a special rubber material around it which takes a day to set. After that, they pour in a special compound which sets in about 17 seconds (and gets really hot in the process). Once that cools, they can peel off the rubber mold to get their cast which is much lighter than the original rock but can be drilled, painted, and worked with to create complex structures like dinosaur skeletons. As you can see, they can also paint it different colors like this sandstone example.







There was even a playroom for the kids which our youngest, Monet, really enjoyed.

It was a wonderful experience, and I'm so glad I got to take some time off today and enjoy it. If you're ever heading through Murfreesboro, TN on a Thursday, Friday, or Saturday from 11am to 4pm, be sure to check out the Earth Experience.

I hope you enjoyed these pictures as well. They had a sign at the entrance encouraging people to take pictures and share them on social media because it helps spread the word about their museum. Corinne found out about them through a friend's post on Facebook.

These pictures only give you a glimpse of the information here. Talking with one of the volunteers, I told them how I'll create a Steemit post to show their work. He got all excited about the idea of creating their own account and documenting their restorations. I hope they do, and we can all support them with our upvotes. What a great way to keep a non-profit doing important work to restore and educate about our world's history.

I'm using the #steemiteducation tag because I want more people to know about the great work they are doing. I've been delegating some Steem Power to the @steemiteducation account for some time now. If you want to see educational material in your Steemit feed, give them a follow.

Well, it's Friday night, and I'm ready to relax a bit. I hope you had a fantastic week!

If you think your followers would enjoy these pictures as well, please consider resteeming it to them. Thanks!


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

@lukestokes Sometime I wonder what #steemit community is all about. Is it to earn oh no..when you get right following you will be happy and learn everyday. I am happy I get in touch with your via this post I just learn new thing which Permineralization you mentioned a rock in which some of us might think is wood or dinosaur just like you post says and I quote

One of the things I learned was that petrified "wood" isn't really wood at all! Neither are what we consider dinosaur "bones". They are also petrified. It's really just rock, created through the process of permineralization:
Permineralization is a process of fossilization in which mineral deposits form internal casts of organisms. Carried by water, these minerals fill the spaces within organic tissue. Because of the nature of the casts, permineralization is particularly useful in studies of the internal structures of organisms, usually of plants.

Thanks buddy, what a great post. I'm following to receive more detailed info from you.

I've lived an hour and a half from this place for the last 15 years and never knew it existed until now. I have a kid that loves dinosaurs, going to try to go this weekend. Amazing looking place.

Cool, I hope you make it out!

You really took a lot of pictures. I've seen some of those petrified wood pictures. I have never seen any live because we do not have many museums here.

Isn't it amazing that some of the most important causes in the world are run by nonprofit? It makes it seem like profit is the cause of the problems we have in the world today.

@greenrun said you were an awesome person. I came to see for myself and I'm amazed. I will be back and hopefully, I shall catch you in a conversation one of these days.

You have a beautiful family. You must be very grateful.

Thanks for stopping by. :) I am very grateful indeed.

Wow, that is so cool right there! I am a fan of gems and minerals, I even have a few, and I went to some similar museums in my country but here the main difference is that they don't let you touch anything, neither to have photos of their collection, and I thought this was all normal until I have read your article. It is really impressive! Thanks for the great info and have an amazing weekend next to your family!

I think it is normal, actually. That's what made this trip so incredible!

This looks like a fantastic place!!! going to send a link to my friend who is not on steemit . Isn't it funny how kids always know more about Dinosaurs than we do? What happens to a brain between childhood and adulthood to throw out all that info?
Resteemed and upvoted

He loves watching dinosaur documentaries. :)

This looks like something that I would love.
We went to the Science Center in Boston which was pretty cool. They had a lot of interactive exhibits.

Darryl

I love checking out science centers when we go on road trips. Our membership in Nashville gives us access all over. It's pretty sweet. :)

Love the pictures of your family adventure which are enough to feel like we were there! I am surprised it looks like a warehouse outside and has all that inside!

Please stop upvoting this moron scammer! EVERYTHING he is charging people for is available for FREE! DO NOT SUPPORT THE SCAMMER @jerrybanfield!!

Yeah, they are looking to get a new space. I almost drove right past it until Corinne noticed the sign in the parking lot and told me to stop. :)

You sir have just added a place to my "Must Visit" List. My kids love dinosaurs.

WOW, this place looks amazing, specially for the kids, I am sure nobody got bored, and a day looks to short to see everything!!
Nice photos and post.

hows you feel when you touch Dinosaur real bone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80