Breast Is Best!

Breast is best. Don’t get too excited gentleman, nothing to see here! 😊 In all seriousness though, I do want to take the opportunity to discuss how amazing breastfeeding can be for infants, and even toddlers. That’s right, I said toddlers! I have just weaned my almost-three-year-old off the boob, and I did this somewhat reluctantly, although my body (and work schedule) did hint that it was time! If I could, I would breastfeed her for at least another year, just because of how good it is for her growing body and mind.

When I first found out I was pregnant, I was determined that I would fully breastfeed my daughter for at least the first 6 months, and that I was going to ace it! But when she was born, she did not take to the breast very easily at first and this left me quite dismayed, and disappointed with myself. Instead of giving into the bottle however, I did some research, sought professional help and after weeks of enduring breast and nipple pain and an unhappy baby, we finally got it right! This was a huge relief and when the time came for my little girl to let go of the boob, it wasn’t easy and weaning her off of it was once again quite a painful (psychologically so) experience for us both.

Photo Credit

This brings me to the point of why I was so adamant that o wanted to breast feed, which I will break into listed points below.

Why Is Breast Best?


Breastfeeding not only benefits baby beyond nutritional requirements, but it does wonders for you as a new mommy too.

  • Breast feeding protects your baby from illnesses and disease and boosts the immune system;
  • It reduces the risk of breast, uterine and ovarian cancer in women;
  • Promotes postpartum weight loss in breastfeeding moms (yeah!);
  • It’s a wonderful bonding opportunity to have with your child;
  • It costs, well, nothing!

Weaning my daughter off the breast was a bittersweet moment, I was glad to have my body back, but at the same time it felt so good being able to nourish her this way, and bond with her. While this is definitely not an attack on those who cannot breastfeed for whatever reason, or who prefer formula, there’s no denying that breast really is best!

With thanks from mamameimei,

I SUPPORT @STEEMITEDUCATION


Sort:  

Absolutely super agree. I breastfed my child till 20 months, and was weaned just 2 weeks ago because i was pregnant for my second baby, (probably doesn't want the taste due to hormone changes). But if i were to choose i would like to breastfed him for another year. Tell you what, two weeks ago was a heartbreak for me, i miss the bond when we are doing our feeds. So special.
But of course as they grow, another special bond will be created and enjoy. Happy journey.

P.s. (Thought i was the only who got sad when i weaned my child).
Thank you for sharing this. It means a lot to me.
Salute to you Mummy @mamameimei


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

total! thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience, unfortunately I have seen women who decide not to breastfeed for aesthetic reasons what seems to me a total stupidity, but it is necessary that information as this is known more people, to make decisions as a function of the consequences .. Greetings thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66