Teaching Children How To Be Clean By Playing With Toys

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Toddlers learn how to interact with the world around them by mimicking their parents. By doing what they see their parents do, toddlers begin to understand how to behave, how to use tools, understand more complex concepts, and more. The great thing about modern society is that it is easy to find toys to teach kids important life skills. Right now, my toddler is learning how to clean using a toy broom, dustpan, and brush. She's also learning to brush her hair and teeth.

Little Rabbit's Broom

IMG_5337.JPG

Description On The Package

IMG_5340.jpg

Little Rabbit's broom is the perfect size for a toddler. My daughter indicated she was ready to learn how to sweep the floors by grabbing my adult sized broom and attempting to sweep. Unknown to me, she's noticed me sweeping the kitchen once a day. You never know what kids are going to pick up from their parents. It surprised me when one day she picked up my broom and started trying to use it. She's so little and it's so big that she had a hard time carrying it. She took out a few drinks on counter tops and knocked over other things high up with the broom handle.

Daily she would seek out my broom and would drag it from room to room trying to sweep. Her daddy found her a toddler sized broom set and she loves it. It is the perfect size for her and she can now sweep any room of the house safely. Little Rabbit tries to sweep invisible dust into the dustpan. She hasn't grasped that I sweep dirt tracked into the kitchen into the pan yet.

You can tell from the shirt mommy and daddy have high hopes for Little Rabbit

IMG_5342.JPG

The little brush that came with the broom is also something Little Rabbit is using, but not in the way that she's suppose to. There is a kids song that Little Rabbit loves about brushing teeth and hair. She knows this song really well and learned the concept of brushes through it.

Listen To The Song Below

I sing the brush song when I brush Little Rabbit's hair. She quickly learned from her kids video and from me singing the song while brushing her hair what a brush is. Any time she gets her hands on a brush she attempts to say brush which comes out more like "buh" and will try to brush something. If it's her brush from the broom set or a hair brush, she will come up to me and try to brush my hair. I keep a toothbrush for her on the bathtub and she says "buh" when she tries to brush her teeth. She doesn't understand teeth brushing though. She just likes dipping it in water and then putting it in her mouth to feel the water for a cool teething toy.

I let Little Rabbit play with the toothbrush and my hairbrush when I am grooming myself. I use my own toothbrush and she watches. Then I use her toothbrush on her and she laughs and grabs it from me. She knows how to put it under water to get it wet then puts it in her mouth. When I brush my hair I sing the brush song and she'll reach for the brush smiling. If I give it to her she will want to brush my hair in the best way that a toddler can do such a task.

Toddler's are constantly learning by playing. Mimicking their parents is a form of play. By giving Little Rabbit toys to play with that look like mommy's belongings she is starting to understand how to clean herself and her home. She doesn't understand why I brush my hair or teeth or sweep the floor but she's far too little. At least for now she is learning motor skills and how to help mommy by playing with her toys and mimicking what she sees me doing.

All photos are my own original pictures and property of @marxrab.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

@marxrab Toddlerhood is fun times. Toddlers want to exert autonomy.Hence, the popular "No" for everything.

My daughter has the most pitiful way of saying no. She says it in a way that makes you feel so horrible for stopping her from doing something lol. It is a sweet and fun age though. Even though she gets into trouble every two seconds.

I really think a good toy marxrab beloved, better than many so they are raised with good habits that few have them and they will collaborate at home as they grow.

Thank you. I think she will learn some really good habits.

I'm sure of that friend, because they set a good example as parents.

Poor little guy learns the realities of life at very early age :)

It's amazing what kids will do when parents teach. Toys are a great teaching tool, and boring chores can always be made fun if we are creative enough as parents :)

Very true. Kids learn from their parents and its effective to make chores into a fun game. I know toddlerhood won't last though and pretty soon she'll be big and won't want to clean.

When they are teenagers you can just use a tazer ... err... I mean... you can coax teens to do them I am sure...

I own a tazer!! I'm sure I won't have any problems when she's a teen. :)

I do love teaching songs! I sure miss the days of toddlers! Enjoy every moment!

I love toddlerhood. My daughter is so much fun.

Hey maxrab,
great post!

As I am teaching from 7th grade on and my own kids are more than 10 month away from beeing born, toddlers are absolutely off my experience.
But as I want to have children I am really grateful for everything I can learn in advance, like from your great post.

My first reaction was: Is she accepting to use a diffrent brush than her perents? I have seen similar problems at 5-year-old's behavior. But than I saw her picture - she is much younger, right?

Hey! Thanks for commenting. Toddlers I think are really fun. Babies are cute but toddlers have personality and are constantly learning new things. My daughter is 20 months old. She doesn't understand ownership yet. She has her own toothbrush but she'll happily try to take mine. She learned I rinse it under the sink then put it in my mouth. I think she just likes to feel of it because she is teething but she does mimic how I use it. I just let her lead the way in what I teach her. If I see her mimicking me then I use that to teach her new things.

I also agree with you. Toddler is now very good at mimicking what he sees. My 18 month old son also often mimics what I do. But he more often imitates his father's work because he's a boy. He likes to wash his bike while his father was washing his bike.

That has to be adorable to watch lol. It's cute he washes his bike too. My daughter imitates me more but she does try to wear daddy's shoes. I barely wear shoes at home so she sees him putting on shoes and is learning that from him.

I don't remember having toys like that as a child. We just took the real ones and turned them into toys. It was probably a little more dangerous, but "danger" wasn't really a thing in the 80's...

Is that a blue Nimbus 2000?

Kids are little sponges. They soak up everything including things you don't want them learning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87