Fathers in more trouble than their kids

image source

All my steemit friends today I want to write about something that will always stay with me. This was so funny and so sad.

image source

LOL At rugby games the fathers of the first team were always allowed on the other side of the field to run up and down shouting at the children what to do. I think most of these fathers wanted to be as good at rugby as their kids but never got the chance. That is why they had to warm up a bit while waiting for the boys to warm up. You can imagine how they warmed up a bit, before the game by drinking a few beers and some extra just for the nerves. Winning was very important to them.  One of these boys farther was named Kobus and his drinking buddy also a parent was called Chris. As was their way they were standing with the other school parents on the other side of the field as only the reserves as well as the medics and child who gave them oranges at half time was aloud in front of the pavilion where the mothers and other children sat. On one specific day they really must have warmed up very well, as when a parent from the other school bumped Chris down to the ground, and within minutes we had this incredible fight going. Fists were flying and it looked like a boxing match of high standards.

image source

 The referee stopped the match immediately I ran over the field with the other principal to stop the fight.  You can imagine that all parties wanted to make their case but I said it was too late. After we stopped it I told their wives to take them home and that they were suspended from rugby for the next three games. I can still see them in my mind’s eye walking away like school children with their heads hanging. The really looked pathetic. When we got back to the school at about 6 o’clock they were both waiting for me outside the school. They said that they were truly sorry as they definitely warmed up to much for the occasion and felt very bad. Would I please forgive them and let them back at the rugby games. I was adamant and said no way, they really messed up our school name and that was not the way things worked. There were still a few kids standing waiting for parent to pick them up. 

image source

I said no problem but there was nothing they could do to change my mind.  When we went to the office they said they talked and would I not please give them each 6 of the best. I always had a cane in my office to just scare the kids. They said they would both bend and then take the punishment like men if they can just go back to the rugby. I looked at these two enormous men in front of me, they were a lot bigger than I was and saw the pain on their faces, as they begged.  I can still see them in my mind’s eye walking away like school children with their heads hanging. They really looked pathetic. They said that they were truly sorry as they definitely warmed up to much for the occasion and felt very bad. Would I please forgive them and let them back at the rugby games. I was adamant and said no way, they really messed up our school name and that was not the way things worked. front of me, they were a lot bigger than I was.


image source  

I burst out laughing and said no problem  they could come but they had to keep everyone out of trouble at school rugby matches from then, and just like with kids it worked. We never had any problems again. They are both retired old men like me now but still have their warm up sessions every so often.  

Have a wonderful day and enjoyl

 

Sort:  

O goodness these parent that are trying to live their dreams through their kids and then get so wound up about it - I have also seen a few incidents like this when my daughter was still at school. I just cannot understand it . This story made me laugh - thank you

Thank you for always replying I loved your post as well, dont have a good upvote yet but will get there.

@methusalem -- excellent snapshot of a deeply troubling issue. I recently saw on Netflix a heartbreaking documentary about this very same subject. It's a psychological horror show of fathers basically humiliating their own kids . You can discern all the parents' issues from how they think about their kid's sports "career". It's called Trophy Kids (extended version). Cheers!

Thank you I will go and look it is very kind of you to tell me about it thank you so much.

At least someone stopped the play, and the fight in time for nobody to get hurt, my son ended up with a broken shoulder and the game carried on for a further period of time before even realizing someone was hurt on the field.

His very first game and asked me to come along (knowing I was not happy with him playing in the first place).

The rival high school parents got totally out of hand and it ended up with my son being up-ended, aggressive parents shouting commands, our guys were just too light in the pants. (Guess what he went back once he was fixed up, but gave it up shortly after that). A swimmer like his mom...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99