Day 203: My Satisfying experience as a teacher

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

image
Source
When I was in elementary school, our teachers would ask what we wanted to become later in life and I would always say a pilot. I never thought I would ever teach at a certain time in my life. I am still in college and I teach my colleagues and also when am on holiday, I still teach little children. At the beginning, I never really enjoyed teaching little children because they can be very disobedient at times. One fateful holiday, I came home from holiday and I heard a complain that my little cousin failed arithmetics and I was told to teach him for the one month that I'll be staying at home.

My cousin was really bad at arithmetics and I was really getting tired because he was couldn't comprehend simple arithmetics for his stage. I tried to explain what he was taught in class in a simpler method to him but he was not getting it. I decided to teach him the basis of arithmetics as he was finding it difficult to recite the multiplication tables off heart which was something that he should know for his level. While growing up, I realised that the multiplication table helped me alot in arithmetics. So, I decided to teach the basic of arithmetics like fractions and simple calculations. I also reduced his play time and I made sure he recited the multiplication table whenever we are about to start the class. Days went by and he was catching up in his class.

image

Source

Then my next step was explaining what he was taught in class all again in a simpler manner. I also noticed my cousin was very shy and he doesn't talk in class and I reported to his class teacher and asked her to specifically ask him questions to develop his confidence because the more he talks in class, it would increase his confidence. After I left home, I got reports that my cousin's confidence level was increasing in class and also his arithmetics grade improved alot. I am not a full-time teacher but this is definitely my most satisfying moment as a teacher.

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68897.34
ETH 3759.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44