You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Lesson for Writers From Kurt Vonnegut. Day 22 of the Total Writer Transformation

As a poet, I think this is valuable advice to all writers. I love reading novels. In poetry, the fluff is even more harmful than in a novel, I suppose. Having said that, even in novels, if I already know what the sentence is saying, my eyes will drift to see the next page and what happens next. If a book is able to engage me in each sentences without feeling like I should skip some paragraphs, then it's good writing!

Sort:  

My "test" is similar: if I don't find myself daydreaming as my eyes skim the page I know it's good writing.

I agree with you in regards to poetry. Much more fluff must be removed.

It's easy to fall in love with a sentence and not want it to be edited at all. I know the feeling, but you have to do it for the sake of the whole thing!

Lol right! For the small shall suffer for the benefit of the whole!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86