What is the importance of the sense of School Belonging?

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I will start with a little story for you.


source

About two years ago, a six-year-old girl from school hurt her leg and needed hospital care. I went with the mother and the child to the hospital after the fall and later, due to medical guidance, the girl needed an orthopedic boot for recovery.
While her mother was talking to the store professional, I stayed with her in the car and I told her the following story about when I was a girl.


source

"When I was 6 years old, I went to support myself with the chair with only one foot and I fell to the ground". Everyone laughs, "I hurt myself a little, but what I remember is that I felt very embarrassed." I even cried a little but very short so that nobody would listen to me. "

After listening to my story, Julia thought, she looked me in the eyes and said:

"What things teacher, in my school when someone is hurt, everyone helps!"

After a tear exhausted with emotion, I kept thinking about her words and what made her so emphatic when she said: "in my school".

Why do you think your school is so different from mine?

And what will be the memory that little Julia will have of that school in relation to the memory I have of the school I studied?

_The answer is one: the feeling of belonging!

This is a fundamental feeling for us, human and social beings.

In the world of adults we have the awareness of "being a part". I am part of a family, a space in which I work, a church, a cultural center, a society, a country or any other space.

When participating, I get involved, I dedicate myself, I help, I care, I do it. All this makes me feel responsible, important, involved, belonging ...

The same happens in the world of children.


source

The child needs to feel belonging to the space in which he acts.

__When feeling like a child, the child feels safe, involved, identified and responsible with his / her eco-friendly environment. Normally, school is the first place where this feeling will arise after the family. "My school", "my friends", "my teacher", "my room" ... These are expressions that demonstrate that belonging.
And it is in this space that many times the child will perceive different feelings, such as security (or insecurity), autonomy, citizenship, participation. Taking part allows developing different points in the formation of the character of that child who belongs to a small society called "school".


source

Keep in mind that your actions suffer reactions according to the rules of the place, help to plant a flower, collect the garbage that is in the garden, give food to the fish, collect the toys, respect the combination, wear the uniform, are actions that, little by little, strengthen the personality of a small being and help develop that important feeling that makes such responsibility possible.


source

Many times adults do not stop to think about these issues. I have heard some comments that the child goes to school only to play or study, but behind it there are many other experiences that help that child in the development of his personality. That's why it's so important to stop and think about the space your child frequents. The child's school is often compared to the adult's work. We have rules, obligations, conquests, defeats, but we are part!


source

When we change jobs, we suffer with the differences. The boss is different, the rules are different, the procedures are different, co-workers have another style ... The same applies to the child.

Changing a child from school is not an easy task, there are different factors to evaluate and membership to the school is one of them.

Sort:  

Interesting article. I am very interested in what refers to the sense of belonging to the school. When a child plants a tree, repairs a desk, works depending on the maintenance of his institution or performs another job that reflects his love for his school and for those who integrate it, he indicates that we are earning a useful being for society. Blessings friend Roseri.

So, my dear friend, there is positive behavior in the child that will hardly be erased in adulthood. thanks for comment.


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Feeling part of something is important because it encourages you to continue not to feel empty, to see positive things about yourself, and that is good. Students and people in general should be encouraged to feel part of everything that surrounds them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82