You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Reasons Why I've Quit Teaching

It appears that education, along with so many other things, is being turned on it's head. I don't understand the direction we are heading as a species.I think the pursuit of imbalanced profit(rather than an honest living from a fulfilling career of service) is becoming the goal of individuals and businesses. Lead by sensationalized media and marketing that is becoming more influential by the minute. A long winded way of saying we are losing touch with reality and what actually provides satisfaction in life.
It's no wonder we are having a repeat of the social rebellion of the 1960s.

Sort:  

Quite - it is difficult to know how to resist these things rather than just drop out like I'm doing.

They didn't have mobile phones back in the 1960s!

A saying I have come up with is:
"Technology changes, but human behavior doesn't."
We think new technology makes us different or better than past generations, but somehow, in spite of tech advances, we seem to re-create the same problems and situations.
I am seeing the development of a social rebellion that reminds me of the 60s. But just like the 60s, the only thing that will ultimately be accomplished is shifting things around.
I am not convinced that human beings haveevolved, even after millennia.
Were you a sociology professor?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56