Favorite teaching moment

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

What has been your favorite teaching moment of all time? What makes you love your job?

@steemiteducation homework post

learn-2004899_960_720.jpg
source

Teaching is unlike any other job. It is a noble profession. Teachers deal with young minds who can be shaped in such a way that they can become leaders, professionals, skilled workers but above all great human beings who can make a difference in the life of others around them.

Teachers are role models to the children. Don't you remember your primary school teacher whom you liked so much?

I love teaching and though it is not my profession. I have taught underprivileged children from across the street recently.
Let me now write about an experience related to the topic of discussion. I used to teach a few students and help them get through to university after my own graduation. A friend of my brother, an elderly uncle approached me and asked me to help teach a young teenager who was his relative. She was from the island of Lakshadweep and was a little back in studies he said. I agreed and the young girl came to my house in the afternoon. Her house was only a few kilometers away from ours.

I took her to a room and she opened her books. She was in the pre-degree class now known as plus two which is just before university and after secondary school.

She said that English was her weak subject and so, I asked her to read a page and write a few lines about it. She did so and smiled sheepishly. I thought I would faint because her paper screamed that she knew nothing of the language. The realization of the challenge hit me. I stood staring at her paper and could not say anything. I did not want to slight her in any way and so I just smiled and took out her textbook and read out every word and explained it very simply. I was careful to speak only in English and made sure she understood it. I did not want her to learn English by way of translation. Teaching a toddler would have been an easier job but I took up the challenge. Weeks went by and her exams approached. I was the one who was apprehensive.

The result was declared and she came to me with a beaming face. She did not say anything but was smiling and crying at the same time. She had cleared the examinations with good marks. The uncle also came with her and thanked me profusely. I was so happy and I felt that it was a moment I would cherish forever.

approval-15914_960_720.jpg
source

This is my favorite moment. This is why I love teaching.

I lost touch with her after she went back to the island but I wish her well. I also appreciate her dedication to studying without which I could not have done much.

unknown (1).png

U5drcxCo7jxGoo638rNWv19XN8tgwhj_1680x8400.png

Day 361-362- Calling all educators and students! Check out the homework!

Sort:  

This is a good example of how beautiful our articles can get if they come straightly from our hearts. I can learn a lot from you if you keep on producing good articles like this!

in fact, currently, I'm teaching mathematics to a neighbour of mine. He is in 10th standard. It is a great feeling to see him doing maths on his own. I don't do this for money though.

it is good to know that. Do write for steemiteducation also

I thought of that. But I heard something negative about steemiteducation. I stopped using that tag altogether.

You're right Sayee, teaching is emotionally rewarding unlike any other job, when I saw the title, I was like "how is it even possible to pick one of those moments", haha. I love teaching too and glad that you find it fascinating!

thank you so much dear.


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Lovely post! Isn't it wonderful to be able to make a difference in someone's life.

@sayee, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2

Teaching to me is the best job there is but not well paid good one with this

You proved that teaching with full sincerity and dedication can take the kids to higher levels. 👏🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94