The First Week in The Capital

IMG_20180114_152405.jpg

Garuda Indonesia aircraft was approaching Soekarno-Hatta when I saw through the glass window a huge number of ships were scattered on the ocean of The Port of Jakarta (Tanjung Priok). After landing, we were approaching the baggage claim area when I remembered that my cell phone was not in my pocket nor in my bag. Yup, I lost it, not know whether inside the aircraft or left around the premises of the airport. After a little while, I reported the loss to the Lost and Found, yet I could not wait too long for that to confirm the position of my cell phone. Instead, I gave the number of the lost cell phone and my friend’s cell phone number to the staff so that they may contact me in case they have found my cell phone. Soon after, my friends and I made for Menteng Central Jakarta. The trip from the airport took almost 30 minutes before we arrive in Jl. Menteng Kecil, adjacent to Gondangdia train station, where we could finally find our rent house which had been booked by a friend in Jakarta one day before our coming. Meeting the landlady, we received the room key and put all the package we brought into the room. The rest of the very day I and my roommate went for a walk around our dwelling looking for the Goethe Institut location, the learning centre we were supposed to go the following day.

IMG_20180115_115856.jpg

Walking down the street heading to Goethe Institut, I could see how noisy and busy this city is every weekday. After about 7 minutes, I arrived at Goethe meeting some other friends of Aceh, also the holders of DAAD Scholarship.We attended the first German class with a very nice teacher, we addressed her Olly. While the class was running, an inbox from a friend in Banda Aceh on my WA asked me whether I lost my phone, I said yes. She said that my phone was picked up in the aeroplane by a man admitting from Tangerang. The man warned my friend that in case none would take the phone soon, it will belong to him automatically. I requested the friend to contact him once more again asking in where his position in Tangerang, unluckily the phone was deactivated. Knowing this, I change my mind not to come to Tangerang, instead, on the very day, I should come to Grapari renewing my number on the lost phone. All about this problem was closed and I now I had to focus on my learning in Goethe.

IMG_20180115_122231.jpg

Staying in 7x4 metre room of a rented house made me feel different. Unlike in Aceh where a rent-house has to be fixed that whether it is for male or female tenants, in Jakarta, the barriers are dismissed. Male and female renters can freely live in a house, yet different rooms. I got no vehicle to use so I have to walk to every place I need like Cut Meutia mosque to pray, BRI and Mandiri banks, restaurants to eat my lunch and supper, market to buy some sustenance, and of course Goethe Institut to learn German. I feel completely different. The taste of food, the language locals speak, the standard of politeness people stand on and everything else. However, I have been attempting to familiarise myself with those all.

Learning in Goethe is an honourable chance for me, thinking that it is not a simple way to get such an opportunity in Aceh. The institute is situated at Jl. Samratulangi, Kebon Sirih, Menteng Sub-district. It serves the students with a very pleasant classroom and professional teachers. My favourite teacher is Mrs Olly. At the very first meeting, she requested us to call her just ‘Olly’, not Mrs Only, Frau Olly, or other deferential terms of address before her name. This contrasts with that in Aceh where addressing an elderly teacher directly by saying his/her name would be deemed impolite. From Monday until Thursday the class starts from 8 a.m. and ceases at 12.30 p.m. while in Friday ceases at 11.30 due to the soon time of Jumah prayer. During the break time, I could go the cantine buying some meal. Lamentably, the price sounds unfriendly to me. The cantine is only a small square room with three racks of vain. The way to purchase is that we can demand what food we need and directly pay the cost of it. To eat the bought meal, I may sit around a round table in the terrace beside the library. The library serves a seriously cosy and enjoyable nuance that answering phone calling and taking photographs are not allowed inside it. It collects a huge number of books written mostly in German and only a few in English. Also, the library provides some laptops with the fast internet connection to use. Because I need the Net most to access the websites of my targetted universities, I would sit on the corner table with my laptops. Yes, it is true that this far, hardly have I touched the books on the bookshelves. Overall, such a library is conspicuously a haven from the hectic life and bustle of the surroundings. The atmosphere around the premise of Goethe is really supportive for those persistent in learning German since we can have tutors who teach us speaking almost full German as the instructional language. It is normal to see many young students practice their German in the corridor while walking, in the mushalla after praying, and in the library discussing books they read.

IMG_20180115_134755.jpg

In the midst of my longing I remember a saying by Imam Al-Shafi’i :
Travel! You will find a replacement for what you leave behind, And strive! Because the joy of living is in striving

This quote chimes sometimes in my mind and burns me to thrive and not to disappoint the trust put on me. What highly matters now is that besides centring on searching for LoA, I must take IELTS soon for the majority of German universities require the applicants’ English proficiency proven by the certificate of this test. I have decided that tomorrow I should have registered my name as the candidate of IELTS test takers in IDP South Jakarta, otherwise, I fear the seats would be totally booked If I were too late. Wish me luck, Buds. Please do not forget ME in your prayer as I do not YOU.

Jakarta, 15 January 2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43