Recycling focus for education # Bottle caps

Recycling focus for education # Bottle caps

I am pro reusing daily articles for my lessons, so today when I was busy planning my lessons for my pre-k classes next week, I as usual, tried to find articles that I could find in my house or in any household throughout our school community.

Today's lucky article was bottle caps.

I chose three main activities that I will be using through out the week that includes bottle caps:

Activity 1: Constructing with paddlepops and bottle caps


Image Source

You will need the following:

  1. Bottle Caps
  2. Paddlepops

Instructions:

  1. Place the bottle caps and paddlepops on the carpet.
  2. Show the learners some ideas what they can do and then instruct them to try and build anything that they want to.

This activity focus on planning and sequencing skills.

Activity 2: Sorting activity


Image Source

You will need the following:

  1. Different sizes and colors of bottle caps.

Instructions:

  1. Place the different bottle caps on the table.
  2. Provide the learners with cups or bowls to sort the different bottle caps.

This activity focus on mathematics colors and sorting skills.

Activity 3: Match a bottle cap and patterns


Image Source

You will need the following:

  1. Bottle caps with shapes or colors on.
  2. Pattern cards

Instructions

  1. Match the different bottle caps together.
  2. Give the learners the pattern cards and let them use the bottle caps to pack out the patterns.


Image Source

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Using metal caps 50 odd years ago my Grandad built castles for us to play with @tanyaschutte

Before plastic, metal bottle caps he built abacus counters for us to use as toys, by hand drilling the center of the caps and using thin sticks onto a wooden frame.

Learning not to waste, recycling is a good lesson in life, one man's trash is another man's treasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95