You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Punish Children ?

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I frequently hear people discussing, wether physical punishment is acceptable. I think its more about the intensity. Psychic punishments can be extremely harmful, too.

It is important to understand the sensitivity of the particular child and react adequately. As a unsufficient reaction and uncorrected inacceptable behaviour will harm the child in the long run, too.

I guess there a couple of situations where somebodey (and here I am not exclusively speaking about children) gets into a mentals state where nothing but a physical stimulus reachis her or him, but usually there are so many better ways.

My three favourite ones (as a teacher):

  • Starring into the childs eyes for five seconds
  • Approaching closely (face to face less than 50 cm / 0.5 yd)
  • Instead of criticising "You talk to loud" asking "Why are you talking so loud?" Than at least wait for an answer for five seconds.

I love specially the last one because sometimes a child has reasons and she or he can be correctet by logic or at least understood.

For me as a theacher it is extremely problematic when a child is often yeld at or even beaten because there "receiver" is set by that to a super high "threshold" and my comparatively "weak signal" is not reaching her or him.

I have to punish rarely and usually just point out bad behaviour which is corrected by my students quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68515.51
ETH 3777.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65