Make Your Lessons More Student-Centered!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

5DitHwQ6l0.jpg

1


Presentations!

In modern teaching, the role of teachers has changed a lot. When I consider myself as an English teacher, I must say that I am not in the center of my lessons anymore. I know that the less I speak in lesson, the more effective they become for my students. Today, I would like to talk about the ways of making our lessons more student centered. I usually use these techniques in my own lessons.

First of all, student centered lessons means the ones which your students have more time to talk and produce something in classroom. Presentations are really helpful for teachers and students. If you have limited time in your lessons, it is not so easy to organize them. However, try to give your students as much as time possible so that they can perform what they learn in your classes.


dreamstimemedium_8160810.jpg

2


Follow-Up Questions!

This is the way that I use so often in my classes. As an English teacher, I want my students to speak as much as possible in my classes. Whenever I teach grammar, there are some parts which urge students to make follow-up questions and ask them to each other. By doing this, they feel more adapted to the phrases and verbs in English.

If your students are shy about speaking by using follow-up questions which are like where, what or when, you may give them some time to take notes and prepare their questions before they start using them. As I have stated before, follow-up questions help me as a teacher and my students a lot. You should definitely try this way to make them more engaged in lessons.


Interesting-People-57e1bed43df78c9cce33cbf8.jpg

3


Dialogues!

As an English teacher, I also love dialogues a lot. Dialogues give your students time to create something by using what they learn in lessons. Whenever I teach grammar or new phrases, I ask them to write a dialogue by working in pairs and groups. This is the time when they have the control in lesson partially and produce thing with their knowledge.

Another great thing about dialogues is that it gives equal chance to all students in your lessons. No matter how shy or active they are, everyone can have a chance to express themselves in dialogues. It might be a great idea to mix students who are in different levels in the same groups so that they can learn something from each other.


harry_potter_class_2.jpg

4


Role plays!

If you a language learner, you need to visualize everything in your mind. What is better than visualizing something is to perform in real life. Explaining grammar rules without any activity supporting that means nothing at all. Role plays usually make lessons more interesting for students. While they are performing something in the language they are learning, they are also having so much fun.

After all, all the activities I have mentioned above are really crucial in making your lessons more student-centered. It also gives teachers to breathe a bit in their tight schedules. Based on my experiences, I usually get positive feedback from students, hearing that they improve themselves a lot when they are more engaged in this kind of activities.


unknown.png


Creativity

I really hope that my ideas will help you organize your lessons more affectively. I think, it is a must for all language teachers to organize this kind of activities to help students learn more and use a language effectively. When a teacher is creative and active, students show the character too.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Everyone is welcome to have a look at @steemiteducation page and educate all people! Thanks for reading


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

Your opinion completely matched with me !

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97