Welcome to class! Here I am!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

maxresdefault.jpg

1


Who am I?

This is the question that I write on the board when I start lessons with a new group of students. As many of you already know, I am an English teacher who is working in a private school. I start new classes quite often. My classes are usually in form of group classes so there are usually 10-12 students. In our language school, lessons start with an orientation in order to break the ices among students and teacher.

When we start a new lesson, the first aim is to get to know each other. There are some practical things that can be done in new classes. I prefer to start with introduction part and encourage them to ask me some questions. Questions can be quite basic and simple ones like the following ones.

What is your name?
How old are you?
When did you start teaching?
How long have you been working here?


pastpresentfuture.jpg

2


Stages of life!

These questions might seem less important than they actually are. However, when they ask you some questions , they realize that they can say something in English, so this is quite rewarding for many of them. As questions are usually based on past, present and future, they might remember the questions forms that they need to learn about my past and future plans.

By doing this, it is possible to teach them new things and this happens naturally as we all use these questions in daily life. It is one of my favorite activities to break the ices in new classes. After they ask these questions, you can also lead them to ask those questions to each other so that everybody can get to know each other in classroom.


ejercicios-de-memoria-para-aprender-ingles.jpg

3


How can I study?

If your students are not aware of the ways of improving their English, you will be exposed to lots of questions which can help them to get better in each skill of English. It is really useful to have a chat about it with all students. In this point, it is crucial for teachers to transfer their experiences to students. This is what students expect them from the person who is supposed to help them in their learning progress.

It is also possible to show them some techniques about reading or other skills. I usually teach them to learn new words effectively. When students learn a new word, they should use that new word in a sentence like following one. It is a good example of learning a new word.

*Our word is employment.

When they check the vocabulary, they will see what it means, employment means work. Example sentence can be like this.
There is employment problem in our country.

It is also possible to learn new words by checking employment's verb or adjectives forms. Look at this paragraph.

" I am employed (adjective) . My employer (noun) decided to let me work in his company last week. I am so happy that I was employed ( verb) by my boss. "


slide_1.jpg

4


What is your motivation?

Motivation is a key word that can help us achieve lots of things in life. When I start a new class, I ask all students why they want to learn English. If they don't have a target to hit, they can't do it, so it is important to help them draw a route to success by listing some sources of motivation. If your students don't have anything to say, it is teacher's duty to give them some reasons to learn a new language.

I usually tell them about my experiences that I have managed to get thanks to English. When I tell them my success stories, they usually give positive reactions and feel eager to follow the same path which I have done. By having a conversation about motivation and opportunities that English offers to us, we can build trust between students and teachers and it can continue forever. It is important to give them the feeling of care and trust which is provided by teachers.


logo12.png


Education

Everything in life is build with trust and love. If you prove your students that you are the correct person who will help and support them in every stage of their learning, they will surely respect you and do their best to learn what you are teaching.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Everyone is welcome to have a look at @steemiteducation page and educate all people! Thanks for reading.


follow_teachblogger.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05