STEEMHOMEWORK: "Destiny Brought Me To The Teaching Field"

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


It's STEEMHOMEWORK Time!



I think I missed last week's homework, so I decided to submit my homework for this week. This is in response to @steemiteducation's STEEMHOMEWORK. If you wish to participate, please click the word "STEEMHOMEWORK Time" above.


P_20180203_083339_1.jpg

QUESTION:

Why did you decide to become a teacher?


ANSWER:



As my title says, "Destiny Brought Me To The Teaching Field". This sentence pretty much sums up my answer to the question above. However, allow me to tell you my story.


When I was young, I have always wanted to be a doctor. The challenge of working in the medical field piqued my interest even as a child. However, ironically, I wasn't the healthy kid. Yes, I was sickly but luckily it has improved as I grew older.

When the time to decide for my future came, there were a lot of barriers. Firstly, taking up Medicine costs a lot and my family couldn't afford it. Secondly, my mama was a worrywart and thought that studying Medicine would be too much for me. She wanted me to take up either Education or Accountancy.

However, I never dreamed of becoming either of those. I thought being a teacher or an accountant would be boring for me, so I ended up taking Nursing.




I totally enjoyed my "Nursing Life". Yes, there were a lot of "toxic" days when I feel so burned out and the pressure is too much. However, I enjoyed even those things. My favorite part was assisting in the Operating Room. I will forever treasure every moment of it.

What I didn't expect was that being a nurse, we should also act as a teacher. There, I experienced teaching patients and their significant others about health care. We also conducted "Health Teaching" in the community and provided various "Therapies" to those in the mental institutions.







Unexpectedly, I also end up teaching my classmates whenever a Major Exam is coming. I'm not the studious type of student, but I do listen during discussion while doodling on my notebook whenever I find the topic boring. My classmates often told me that they easily understand concepts when I teach. That was when I realized I had a knack for teaching.

Fast forward graduation, review days and Licensure exam for nurses... In my country, waiting for the board exam results especially for nurses takes a month or two. While waiting, I decided to work. Actually, we were also financially unstable that time so I really needed to land a job.

My first ever job was as a company-based online ESL teacher. I wasn't that fluent back then, so I was a bit worried. However, with the help of some training, I got used to speaking and teaching English. Days passed and I was already looking forward to working everyday. Yes, I fell in love with teaching.

Working as an ESL teacher is practically better than working as a nurse. The salary of nurses in the Philippines is really low, so even though I love the nursing profession, I chose practicality.

Moving on to my journey as a teacher, I tried out teaching in an offline school. It was so fun! Having real interaction with people, doing a lot of activities together and sharing various experiences with them got me even hooked to teaching. That was when I decided to really pursue this career. I left the English Academy and switched to a home-based online ESL so I could have more time. And that extra time I got, I used it by enrolling at a college to get my Diploma as a teacher. Finally, I got my Diploma and even passed the Licensure exam for teachers.

mahgurlz.gif



I could apply to either a public or private high school now, but my "free soul" told me to wait. I want to experience more! And so, I decided to keep my job as a home-based ESL teacher while working on other things. Just early this year, I completed my TESOL Certification program and hopefully next year, I could study and work in the country of my dreams.

My journey as a teacher is still evolving, so I'll constantly go with the flow. I never planned to be a teacher, but destiny brought me to where I am now and I am completely happy with it.


Sort:  

Your post has been selected as the @steemiteducation Post of the Day:)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the #steemiteducation tag in the post itself.

Wow congrats nee-chan!

Thank you imouto-chan! ^^

You got a 4.42% upvote from @upme thanks to @tegoshei! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

By the way, Do you know this @fundition’s contest?

@tegosheiは、この記事の一番上の写真にあるようにハートマーク好きだよね?この @funditionのコンテストに参加してみない?

https://steemit.com/contest/@funditian/get-your-reward-with-contest-of-the-month

Ohh... interesting! I'll try to submit one.. Thank you for sharing. :)

楽しみです!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00