The Tough Decision (An Original Story) + Questions for Conversation

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


The Tough Decision




IMAGE SOURCE



Kelly is a 12-year old 6th grader from Heaven's Academy. She's graduating this year from her elementary class and is very excited to level up to Junior High School with her friends.

Heaven's Academy caters students from Preschool to Senior High School, so most of their students spend their school life in the same Academy. Instead of being mere classmates, they consider each other great friends... family even.

The same goes for Kelly. She has spent most of her life there and has created a very strong bond with her friends until...


"What? Why do I have to transfer? I don't want to!" Kelly exclaimed when she heard the news from her father.

"As I've said, I got promoted at work and was tasked to manage the newly-opened company branch." he explained.

"And why should I transfer, too? I don't have any friends there! All my elementary friends are going to continue studying in Heaven's Academy. Can I not go?" she pleaded.

Her father sighed and motioned her to come closer, "You're still young, Kelly. That new place will be beneficial for all of us. The school is just a few minutes away on foot as well as the hospital. If we're there, we can visit mom everyday." He patted his daughter's shoulder, "Do you want to be away from mom and dad?"

Kelly started sobbing as she replied, "No, I don't I want to live with dad and stay near with mom... but my friends might forget me if I transfer."

Her dad hugged her, "True friends never forget, dear. You might be far by distance, but never by heart. They will always be your friends."




After Kelly's elementary graduation ceremony, her classmates gathered around her and gave her a scrapbook.

"What's this?", with a surprised look, she asked.

"That's a gift from all of us!", one classmate answered, "We printed out pictures of various school activities since we were in Preschool and we also wrote our messages for you. It's a memento of our cherished memories here in Heaven's Academy and a proof that you are one of us."

Kelly was teary-eyed, "You guys..." Before she could continue, her classmates hugged her.

"We'll definitely miss you, Kelly, but don't worry. We'll see each other again and we'll keep in touch often."

In between her sobs, Kelly answered, "Thank you guys, It was a tough decision to make, but I had to. We'll definitely see each other again." She smiled, "I'll be treasuring this gift as well as the memories we have shared for as long as I live. I love you all!"

They all embraced each other in a great big hug before heading their separate ways.


@tegoshei




  • What have you learned from the story?
  • Have you ever been separated from people dear to you? How did you feel?
  • What was the toughest decision you have ever made in ife?
Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99