A Dino Tale from Preschool


One morning at preschool, a child brought a large, plastic dinosaur to the wooden dollhouse and began to stomp the dinosaur and knock over the doll furniture. As I saw this happen . . .

FLASHBACK!


When I was a child, I had a Holly Hobbie cardboard dollhouse. It had paper dolls that I meticulously cut and dressed with paper clothes. Now, why on earth this paper house was a good idea, I'll never know. It was not a good idea. Not for one with an older brother. Like the preschooler did, my brother came upon my dollhouse with a dinosaur. He stomped that dinosaur all over my house. My house was ruined.

Back in the classroom, I stopped the child and told this tale to my preschooler. I told him how it made me very sad, how we had to use a lot of tape to fix it, and how dinosaurs do not belong in the dollhouse. I then said how angry my parents were. At that point he raised his head. Very interested, the child asked, "What happened to your brother?"

Now, I know my preschoolers and I know their parents. Some parents use a spanking now and again. So did my own parents back in the day. As I thought it over, I just said exactly what happened ... in preschool terminology:

"Well ... he got a whoopin."

The child replied, "Daaannnnggggg!" and took the dinosaur back to the block area.

dino
holly
dang

Sort:  

Congratulations @upsydaisy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61587.45
ETH 2890.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43