A quick grocery lesson from Costa Rica

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Just got back from a trip to Costa Rica! As I gather photos and stories to share, here's a funny tale from the Super Mercado...

My mission is to find milk and juice. I'm an American, so if anything else, I can shop! So I see a carton with an orange. Jugo must mean juice. Done. I see a carton with 0% leche. I know some Spanish and that's milk, and the zero must mean skim. Damn, I'm good.

spanish.jpg

I'm so proud, thinking I know my stuff. Get it home and the products get turned around. I wonder how I could have been so wrong. So horribly wrong.

english.jpg

Three things learned: 1. Some grocery items actually have both languages on them if you look, stupid. 2. Carrot juice is actually tasty. 3. Sour milk is an actual thing.

Sort:  


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Lol!!! I remember feeling over confident with my Spanish when we visited the Dominican a few years ago. Lots of laughter aa o ordered who knows what. The important thing is that I perfected ordering vino tinto!! Lol

and donde esta el bano!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55