Fun Books with Lasting Impressions for Preschool - My Steemiteducation Homework

This week's @steemiteducation homework: Which book would you prescribe to your students to read and why would it make an impression on them.

As you know my fellow Steemians, I TEACH PRESCHOOL. These little buggers don't read. BUT that doesn't mean they shouldn't be read to and I most certainly have recommendations.

Before we go any further, please note that all my recommendations require you to be an animated storyteller. If you are an eight grade history teacher, these may not be the recommendations for you. I'm assuming the older the child gets, the less animated the teacher becomes? I'm not sure. Heck, I'm not sure HOW you even teach those tweens and teens in the first place. They have too much attitude. When I substitute taught, I wanted to grab them by the ear and yank, just a little hard, and go into MAJOR mom mode. "Do not roll your eyes at me again! Your teacher gave me this lame history text book that we need to read together, and now you're going to give ME attitude? No way, Becca." Then I twist said ear, let go dramatically causing no real harm, and let her begin the first paragraph, chapter one. Is that how it goes?

Obviously I cannot handle teens. Give me 3-year-olds any day...

Where was I? Oh yes - my book recommendations require becoming an animated storyteller. Expressions, big gestures, leaning in, whispering, leaning back, yelling, and using your entire body to tell the story are prerequisites for any early childhood educator. The wee ones eat this up, and I must say, I'm awesome at it. So without further ado, here is my recommended list of books to read to children:


Green Eggs and Ham
The rhyming helps build language and literacy which is wonderful, of course, but you don't get as tongue-tied as Fox in Socks or some other Dr. Seuss books. The message is clear as well, because countless times I have children who refer to the characters in the book when being served zucchini or cauliflower. Try it and you may like it!


The Book With No Pictures
This requires mega-storytelling skills because as the title says, it has no pictures. This was written by the guy who writes and acts in the television show "The Office," B.J. Novak. It uses descriptive words, emotions, and hilarious sounds all written on large, fun, fonts throughout the book. It helps the children see that letters make words and words have meaning, and that you don't always have to rhyme or make sense. Words can be entertaining, too!


Knuffle Bunny
The social emotional message in this book by Mo Willems is huge. You may remember I need help when it comes to teaching this topic. The child in the story loses her precious bunny, and doesn't yet have the language to communicate to dad. The question "Has there been a time when your parents don't understand you?" hits close to home for all my kids. They share their own stories at circle time, and it really helps them relate and know they are not alone. Note: There is a Part II and it is good, too!


The Duckling Gets a Cookie
Another gem by Mo Willems, the children LOVE the pigeon and his blunt way of speaking and emotional outbursts ... just like them. Add an adorable duckling and a chocolate chip cookie, and now you have a book about sharing. But why did the duck share his cookie? There is also a hidden surprise in the book, that maybe the duck isn't so sweet after all! Figuring this out takes my five-year olds to new levels in literacy!


Put Me In the Zoo
By far my favorite book of all time, this Robert Lopshire Seuss-inspired book not only contains eloquent rhymes and rhythm, but the message leaves lasting impressions with the children. The leopard in this book has unique talents, but he doesn't belong and is not appreciated at the zoo. "Why did they put me out this way? I want to be in. I want to stay!" After showcasing his talents to the children, they find the place that accepts him for his amazing talents. "This is where I want to be! The circus is the place for me!" I would add that color and shape recognition as well as spatial relations are also included in this marvelous piece.

These are my book recommendations for making a lasting impression in early childhood classrooms, giving the children literacy, language, math, social-emotional support AND a whole lot of fun. Who knows ... maybe you could read them to your eigth graders as well?


knuffle
no pictures
zoo
pigeon
eggs

Sort:  

Join my group for daily 100 upvote

Only upvoter join this non upvoter not allow

And do not post before 100 people join

https://chat.whatsapp.com/Inak2ToILqpDgz2TR99ap9

The intelligent quotient of a student, a kid to be specific varies as this in turn necessitates the book to be read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59