You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Louder than a bomb: My hate turned love relationship with poetry - Part 1

Oh man, we are in a similar position... Let me explain.

Before Steemit life, I can't say I hated poetry, but I never engaged in this kind of art. NEVER, literally never :D In my life, I've read a few poems. I was never interested and never was around it. It just wasn't my kind of art.

Now on Steemit, as you know, I am part of the poetry challenge. I wrote 65 poems in 65 days, and I have 35 days left. What I can say is that I changed my opinion about poetry. Well, I probably never had one, because I was never around poetry to talk about it and to feel something about it. But now, I am enjoying it and I can catch myself walking down the street and doing poetry in my head. I never remember it, but sometimes it sounds really cool haha

During this challenge, I started to learn what poetry is and what are some rules to stick with it. As soon as I found out about the rules, my poetry started to be awful. I just couldn't write what I want because of these rules. Luckily, that period is over, it was between 40th and 55th poem. But, as you said it, there is a free verse poem with almost no rules, and for me, poetry must be free... I'm kinda experimenting now with rhyming poems, and enjoying it :)

Thanks for a great post my friend! Have a great time in those classes!

Sort:  

It is so impressive that you have made this commitment and stuck to it. I have been enjoying your poetic journey.

I made my promise to do all 100days and I will stay behind my words no matter how tough it can be. Posts like these and other people are really motivating me. Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63793.53
ETH 3193.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92