Overslept and missed a class, found out that the class was cancelled

in #steemitfamilyph6 years ago (edited)

The previous week was one of the most stressful weeks I've experienced since the semester started. For two days, I stayed up late until six in the morning, not noticing how fast time went by as I struggled to finish numerous academic requirements.

Last Wednesday, I finished my paper at 6 am, and told myself not to sleep, as I might end up waking up late and missing my 8:30 am class for English 10 (Writing of Scientific Papers). I decided to shower to avoid getting sleepy in class. After a quick, warm shower, I went back to my bed, which is on top of a bunk bed that we have in the school dorm, and read my notes to prepare for a 20-point exam.

I haven't noticed that I fell asleep; long story short, I quickly got out of bed and almost tripped on my way down (as I usually do when I'm in a hurry), thinking that I would still make it on time. When I glanced at my watch, it was 9:20 am, and I was definitely late for my 8:30 am class. I was frustrated because I did my best to prepare for the exam.

Thoughts rushed through my mind about how missing that exam would mean a grade of zero, and how my final grade for that subject will be affected. After about 10 minutes of thinking, I realized that I had no choice but to move on; there were still a lot of requirements to finish. I entrusted everything to God; after all, I wouldn't be at this university if he had not willed. I prepared to leave for my 10 am class instead.

When I arrived outside the multi-purpose hall, I saw one of my classmates in ENG 10. Surprisingly, she told me that there was no class. Apparently, our professor was supposed to announce on our Facebook group that there would be no class, but she was not able to do so for some reason. Whatever the reason is, I was thankful to God for the sudden class suspension! Just when I was ready to take responsibility for my shortcomings, I was given a chance to make up for them.

Strangely enough, I've been noticing that things like this often happen when I'm on the edge of a crisis. Life in the university is not easy, but it becomes bearable when you know that God is nearby and always present especially in times of dire need.

Hebrews 4:16
Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.

1 Peter 5:7
Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

Philippians 4:6-7
Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.
And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Photo source: https://foleylionsroar.com/2015/12/cramming-techniques-for-exams/

Sort:  

Humbly gave my upvote. God bless you today!

Thank you! God bless you too ^^

Congratulations @gmcdeguzman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74