Wanderinggian Tried Travelling DIY Version for 2018. But Let Me Share My 2017 Travel Experience First!!!

Since 2017 came, I promised to myself that I will make the most of the year by travelling our beautiful country, the Philippines!

IMG20170904080219-01.jpeg

Last January 2018, me with @chakadoodles, together with my officemates, went to Masasa Beach in Batangas for an island adventure. I will be making a seperate post for that on the following day.

received_10212283458662126.jpeg

Last February 2018, weeks before the Panagbenga celebration, we did a DIY or do-it-yourself tour to Baguio City. It is very unusual to us couple to travel DIY version because we have never travelled before for leisure or fun. By the way, we started travelling last year 2017 by joining tour packages being promoted in Facebook travel pages. We haven't tried diy travel before.

received_2040345679540376.jpeg

Last year, I booked for different events posted in facebook several times as a joiner. Being a joiner means, you will be travelling together with other travellers you didn't know or you haven't met in your life before. Most of the times, I am with @chakadoodles, but sometimes I travel alone. Yes you read that right. I can do that.

Tour packages includes the following (not always but most of the time with):
1.RT or roundtrip transfers from Manila to the tour destination back to Manila
2.boat transfers during island hopping
3.tour guide and coordinator
4.toll fee, gas, parking fee, driver's meal and allowance
5.environmental fees
6.accomodation or stay
7.entrance fees
8.sometimes meal and souvenirs
9.photographer or free use of dslr, action cam or drone.

When you join package tour, it is either you paid as a joiner or you booked the travel exclusively, which means you know every participants that's with you from the transfers or service to the itinerary of the event and accomodation. Travelling exclusively means more private and intimate but more expensive kind of trip.

To rundown my travel last year which is mainly a tour package for joiners, we started off by joining Hot Air Ballon Festival Tour that happened in Pampanga last February 2017. This is our first package event that we almost dont wanna repeat being a joiner traveller in our life. The experience in the vehicle is unbelievable. It's a full pack service via van, overloaded with 18 pax excluded the driver. I cant almost breath it's really a "sardines" kind of trip.

IMG_20180226_050755.jpg
I dont have a camera in our first tour unfortunately

Btw... For the month of January 2017, my sister and her husband treat us to all-expense paid eco park experience to Rave Park in Pasig City. There we experience, our first zipline experience.

Chakadoodles doesn't like to repeat our first package tour experience but because we booked 2 tours ahead of time, he cant do anything anymore. Our 2nd package tour happened the following month of March to the province of Zambales. It's an island hopping adventure wherein we visited 4 main coves namely Nagsasa, Anawangin, Camara and Capones. It's a very memorable trip for us because for me its our 1st official travel as a couple. We stayed 2 days and 1 night and there happened my first clift jumping experience.

IMG_20170325_062535.jpg

The following month which is April, I joined a mountain hiking activity that took place in the beautiful mountains of Tanay Rizal. I participated as a solo joiner since @chakadoodles is having a tantrums at that time. I only had a week of preparation for my first hike. It really is hard to climb mountains especially if it's your first time but once you reached the summit it is so rewarding, the view, the fresh wind plus the fact that you're perspiring your own body fats feels so good lol. My mother mountain consist of trilogy hike to Mt. Lubo, Tangwa Peak, and Mt Ngusong Kabayo. And as we descended, it is pouring rain.

DSC_0117-01.jpeg

April is not yet finished I had another solo trip to Hundred Islands located in the province of Pangasinan. It is just a day tour and I was only invited by a solo joiner that I met in my hike in Tanay. Again @chakadoodles don't join my trip and threw tantrums.

IMG20170507142646-01.jpeg

Because I had a full-pack April, I rested the whole month of May to rest my body and save for our anniversary trip to Ilocos that happened June 2017.

received_1559981874026295.jpeg

It's a 3days 2 nights Ilocos adventure with chakadoodles. It was an amazing experience as we experience for the 1st time the talk of the town the Sandunes' 4x4 extreme ride. It was an awesome experience and to add more, we also experience the beauty of Pagudpud Beach, a truly heaven on earth!
We really enjoyed our anniversary and also his birth month celebration.

IMG20170603152117-01.jpeg

The following month of July, it started the rainy season, but it didn't stop me to adventure. For July, I decided for a change and took a 2days 1 night freediving or skin diving training to help me become condifent in the deep sea. As a lover of sea, its very unfortunate for me that I dont know how to swim, I always need to have a lifevest in order for me to experience deep water and because I am so frustrated to learn how to swim and enjoy marine life every island hopping... I joined an event they called Cold Weekend Dive that happened in Philpan Beach Resort in Batangas. The event is all about intro to free diving, which consist of the breathing techniques, diving dos and donts and how to be confident to swim in the deep sea all by yourself without the use of lifevest, floaters or assistance from others. My main goal of joining is to become at ease with deep water.

IMG20170715152754-01.jpeg

I used to call my swimming, a "swimming-sagigilid" which means swimming sa gilid gilid lang or swimming within the shore line.. 😂. After the said event I still dont know how to swim but I can go to the middle of the sea without fear of drowning. Im really glad I joined that event.

The next month, which is August, my birthmonth. It's a super rainy season but it didn't stop us to travelling, I once again book a tour to Bataan. This time chakadoodles joined with me because if not it's gonna be the end of us lol just joking. All because August also happened to be my birth month so he granted my wish to travel despite the unpredictable weather condition. We went to a 2days 1 night package tour event to Five Fingers Cove Hopping and Claubel Beach. We also visited Sisiman Bay and Km Zero, a historical site. The day before our tour it is pouring rain. On our way it's quite gloomy but not raining, but unfortunately huge waves welcome us to Claubel Beach where we pitch our tent. The island hopping was canceled due to big waves. So we just trek to the nearby mountain near the beach instead. Still, I enjoyed my birthday travel because I love how green the view up there.

IMG_20170723_130340_353.jpg

For the month of September, we decided to go farther than South of Luzon and invaded the second main island of the Philippines, the Visayas Region!
Our first Visayas invasion is to Masbate. We joined a package tour event to Burias Group of Island. It was a breath taking experience, the weather is great, the view is all blue, i joined the exploration dive of the organizers but I only did snorkling, they gave me a free intro to diving once again but I am afraid to give it a try with them because they are not yet licensed or certified to teach diving. We love Burias and promise to visit again.

IMG20170903110016.jpg

Before we book Bataan and Masbate, we already planned to attend a 6days 5night Panay Island adventure that will happened in the long weekend of November. Which means we need to sacrifice the entire October to save. Unfortunately we need to cancel our booking and move it to 2018 due to personal reasons.

FB_IMG_1502082435669.jpg
photo credits to the organizer of the event Sir Clark who allowed me to use his posters above

I did made plans for November 2017 with my officemates. We did a staycation to my officemates house in Laguna and he brought us to Enchanted Kingdom and Splash Island. It's also a funfield experience.

IMG20171125130535.jpg

For the month of December, I had an staycation to Tagaytay with a friend. I had a very emotional end of the year because of health and heart issues. But it still didn't stop me from travelling.

All in all I could say that my 2017 travel goals is a blast. It would be more fun if we push on to our Panay Island adventure. Im still hoping we could do it this year as its itenerary includes visit to 6 main provinces of Antique, Aklan, Guimaras, Capiz, Ilo-Ilo and Romblon.

IMG20171211064052.jpg

Hope you like the story that I shared and I hope it also tickles the wandering spirits of your toes.

I guess by now your know why my pseudoname is @wanderinggian21 hahahahhahhaha


Again, I am @wanderinggian21, a lover of sea, sky and sand. A poor traveler and a naughty introvert.


** @surpassinggoogle has been very supportive to everone. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.*

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Thank you for dropping by.

If you have questions and negative reaction feel free to communicate by writting your comments below 😊😊😊

Have a wonderdul day ahead!

@wanderinggian21 😘😘😘IMG20170326074809-01.jpeg

Sort:  

This coming May, there is Mango Festival in Guimaras.You can indulge yourself with eat-all-you can with the sweetest mangoes in the Philippines

I am not much of a traveler nowadays. Why not try to travel with a few close friends so expenses wont be too high and yet you are comfortable. that is the problem with travel or tour packages

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68