My Chores On the Homestead

Hello, my name is Joshua I am the homeschool kid.
Today I am going to tell you about my chores on the homestead.

  1. I mow the lawn.
    Mowing the lawn is a big chore because we have a big homestead.
    And because we have a big homestead I sometimes forget what I have mowed and what I haven't. And I remember that by drawing a map of the homestead. And I draw numbers on each field of grass so I know which day I need to mow each field.
  2. I feed and water the animals.IMG_20170717_103351.jpg
    We have one cow and four sheep. They drink a lot of water. Especially because it is summer time. I only give the sheep feed when they are low on grass. And when they are low on grass I have to give them more water too. I have to give them more water because they get half of their water from the grass they eat.
  3. I water the banana trees.IMG_20170717_103306.jpg
    Probably you are thinking "You can't grow banana trees in Arkansas." But it is possible.
    People even grow banana trees in Canada! This is how they keep them warm in the winter.
    First they put high fencing all around the plant. Then they pile it up with mulch and straw. Then they put a big black plastic bag on top.
  4. I harvest from the garden.IMG_20170717_103533.jpg
    In the summer, one of my chores is to pick veggies from the garden. And my mom usually asks me to pick papalo and tomatoes because we love pico de gallo.
  5. I do whatever else my mom and dad tell me to do.
    Please Follow and Upvote!
Sort:  

Awesome guy!!!
Takes me back to when I spent summers at my grandparents farm in Mississippi,
some of the very best times of my life.... except the day I got the milk cow drunk by feeding her apples....that wasn't the best day for my rear end lol
Mad respect for you

Now following. Keep us up to date with your learning adventures!

This is wonderful!! I am super proud of you being so responsible - you will grow up to be a real man :) Its not easy working a homestead, be proud of yourself. I love your cows and sheep - I have always wanted a mini goat :) Those heirloom tomatoes look yummy :) Keep being the amazing person you are- Love you my Steemit Friend - SUNSHINE247

Hey @thehomeschoolkid,
enjoyed your post about you sharing your chores on the Homestead that it went in to the first issue of curator - a Steemit magazine I'm trailing out for curation knowledgeable and undervalued posts.
You can check out the post here https://steemit.com/curation/@biglipsmama/curator-issue-1
Thank you for sharing great content!
Keep on Steeming!

Ew.... I mean ewe! Look at that ewe! ;)

Why aren't you mowing the lawn with the sheep?

If I let them out, they would wander off the homestead.

Get harnesses and a long stake in the ground. Or multiple. One for each sheep. They'll eat the circle. Move the stake and the sheep, eat another circle.

Or use the moveable fence option.

We have tried that before, but the sheep get tangled up and strangle themselves.

We don't like to keep moving fence around.

You are an awesome kid to have around the house. You have very proud parents I am sure. Getting you ready for your own life. Great job!

Love watching your Dad giving tips on his channels. Glad to see you starting your own profile bud keep up the hard work it pays off.. My kids are also home schooled!

Well done! It is always so wonderful to see a young man like yourself understanding the benefits of hard work. I have considered trying to grow a banana tree here as well.
Thanks to your dad's live shows and videos, I am trying out papalo this year. I thought none of it germinated but now it has finally started to grow so I am anxious to see how it tastes in our salsa.
Upvoted, following, and resteemed!

Brilliant work I wish I had a homestead when I was a kid. I am havign to work my ass of in order to save to buy some land so my kids can have this lifestyle. Following you for some more tips, keep it up :)

Good work @thehomeschoolkid. Wish I could get my 3 daughters working so hard around the homestead.

Hi Josh, very well done on your hobbies. You'll achieve great things in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73