Our favorite way to eat Zucchini! Fritters!

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

20180719_192503.jpg


I really lucked out when I married my husband. Not only because he is quite the catch himself, but the bonus of his family!

Specifically today I am referring to his Memaw.
This sweet ol' lady is as spry as they come, working her butt off all summer long in her gardens.

Every year she grows a huge garden! The soil there is so dark and rich!
She generously shares heaps of produce with us. Which is a wonderful blessing, as our grocery budget is small and the mouths to feed continue to grow!

The last few weeks, there has been gobs of zucchini and yellow squash.
Well.....we dont particularly care for zucchini or squash, but we'll eat it because its there. However, we've never enjoyed it.

Until now!

Insert solution: Zucchini Fritters!

While searching for paleo-ish friendly uses for all of this zucchini, I stumbled upon this recipe.

I used my handy dandy food processor to shred the fruit (yep, they are fruit!). I used both zucchini and yellow squash here.

20180716_171719.jpg

After allowing the shreds to sit with a bit of salt for about 10 minutes, I used a flour sack towel (which also make great cloth diapers... but this one is for my kitchen) to dump it in. Then SQUEEZED the heck out of it!

20180716_171819.jpg

Mixed in some eggs. Followed by gluten free flour, baking powder, and seasonings.

20180716_172907.jpg

I heated olive oil in my cast iron skillets. Then fried the fritters! The recipe gives full instructions on that.

20180716_173811.jpg

20180716_174441.jpg

Just look at these crispy beauties! Yummm! ALL of my daughers LOVE these!

20180716_181237.jpg

Since we are dairy free, we opted out of sour cream to top, we used mayonnaise and mustard instead.

20180719_192503.jpg

#hippiedaughter1 wanted to set a plate presentation and take the photo for my steemit post. I think she did a great job!
Served here with bunless burgers and roasted green beans.


What ways do you like to eat Zucchini?


20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Yes, I'll often make fritters just with slices dipped in egg and covered in flour and spices. Was a great way to get my kid to eat "yucky" veggies by making them "yummy".

You have received an upvote (from @rycharde) and a resteem (from @accelerator) as part of the new MAP Trail initiative to support curated content.
You can see your entry here and the curator who promoted your post.
All of this is free and part of MAP's mission to support quality content creators by supporting curators.
You may help support the MAP Trail by either upvoting, resteeming or delegating to @accelerator...
... or just upvoting this comment :-)

Thank you so much!

It looks delicious and for that this loving way of serving! ❤ #lovely #yummy
Everything best for you! 😊👍👍

Thank you

I’ve never had fritters of any kind before. I like zucchini sautéed in butter. Mmm. I know some people will make spaghetti out of their zucchini, whether raw or cooked. I’ve tried that; no thanks!

Steam (not steem, LOL) spaghetti squash, butter it, and use it for Pasta. You will like it! :D

I have tried zoodles before, sauted in butter then served with a sauce, pretty good!

I made some of these the other day, they are gorgeous :). I also make tots - mix with mashed potatoes, rather than flour and eggs, fashion little triangular patties (why triangular? I don't know), and bake in the oven.

Baked is smart, may try that too. :)

Triangular, because that was how Momma did it!

Ooh! That sounds good!
Do you have a recipe for those?

https://www.skinnytaste.com/zucchini-tots/
This recipe uses egg and breadcrumbs, I substituted mashed potato, probably because I had some leftover in the fridge!

Great ways of using zucchini and yellow squash!!
Love this!

My pleasure! :D

I make mine like this but instead of egg I use chickpea flour, coriander, cumin and a little nut butter into the batter xx

Oh yum! That sounds wonderful!

Do you avoid eggs?

Hippie Daughter took a beautiful picture. It feels good to see our children get involved in our posts.

I like calabazitas which is chopped squash, corn, tomatoes and a little bit of onions.

Yes! She was so excited with her idea! They love reading my posts and seeing the replies!

Yum! That sounds great! Ill try that too!

Ya! Exactly it's delicious by mash and fry them.

This post is coming at the perfect time, as you saw in my garden, I will soon have a plethora of zucchini to test recipes with. This one is on the list now!! Looks yummy.

I swear zucchini grows like theres no tomorrow!

My favorite is sliced, breaded, and fried! But This looks good, I will try it!

I have shredded potatoes, grated in some onions, added eggs, flour, and baking powder, and made potato pancakes similar to these, and I know they are GOOD!

Keep on posting Girl! :D

My mom used to slice and dip in Jiffy cornbread mix, then fry. Yum!

I hadn't thought about using the cornbread mix; I will have to try that soon! :)

Let me know how you like it!

I will, we had fried Zucchini tonight from the cafe. I will get some fresh, and fry it up.

Sun is down now, and it is Sabbath, so it will have to wait. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66