You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I would change....... If only I could.....

in #steemitmamas5 years ago

Wow, thank you for sharing this! I have similar struggles as this. I too get very frustrated when people (especially strangers) help themselves to a touch of my babies. I don’t care if it’s a pat on the head, a stroke of the hand or whatever, I wish people had the sense to ask permission before doing so. With all the germs and crazy folk in our day that’s just a no no! There have been many of times I was so angry with myself for not speaking up for my babies, not being their voice because they don’t have one yet. Most likely if we’re uncomfortable with it then they are too. I’ve gotten better though. I started acting before it happens. If I see someone reaching or coming close I grab up my babies and say something along the lines “we’re just really careful about the touching” or “it’s okay to say hi”...meaning get the hint and don’t touch.

So yes there are ways we can be kind but firm in protecting our babies. I love @riverflow’s suggestion. That’s what we’ve been teaching our kids (the ones that are old enough to comprehend) that it’s okay to say no. We even talk about situations or scenarios of when to say no. One thing that has really helped me to be more firm is knowing the fact their are so many children getting snatched and taken away from their families. I ask myself “am I endangering my child by letting them in this persons hands? Am I putting them at risk by letting this person touch them?” So yes, we have to be strong and throw peoples feelings out the window when it comes to keeping our babies safe.

You’re doing good mama!! You’re not in this alone ~ 💗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87