What Was Your Favorite Childhood Toy?

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

So, I am very fortunate to have met some wonderful people through Steemit and Discord. I am especially fond of the Steemitmamas. Don't get me wrong, I love my other Discord groups too, but there's something about those friends who are in the same boat that just allows you to let your hair down and be yourself even at your worst. And we all understand when people have to hop off in a hurry or aren't around for a few days. We all are Mama's first, Steemians second.

Anyway, the @Steemitmamas are hosting a Write Along Challenge and although I missed a couple, well, better late than never, right? So today's prompt was:

"What Is Your Favorite Childhood Toy?"

Jem7.jpg

This was tough to pin down because I had two younger brothers so I spent a lot of time playing with them. My Barbies would be ringside as their He-Men and G.I. Joe's battled it out in the little WWF wrestling ring. (Yeah, we were major Hulkamaniacs back then!) So my Barbies were something I did play with often, but I was also a music lover from a very early age. My favorite doll was actually a Jem doll that I got for Christmas because it came with a cassette tape!
jem4.jpg

I remember loving the TV show because:

  1. The music!
  2. The outrageous hair & makeup!
    Jem5.png
  3. And Jem's secret identity! What kid doesn't dream of being some type of spy or having a secret identity! Hello Hannah Montana! Jem did it first! With a touch of an earring, she went from Jerica to Jem!
    Jem6.jpg

And this small obsession may have led to my love of makeup and big hair. My poor younger cousin was often my guinea pig as I would try out the latest and most "rad" hairstyles on her along with some crazy makeup.

jem1.jpg

Anyway, my girls still have the Jem & Rio dolls and they get regular rotation with the other old Barbies and even their newer dolls. Nearly 30 years later and Jem's earrings were still lighting up- up until last year. I even found the cassette in an old box but was sad to realize I didn't have a player to play it in.

Anyway, there you have it, My favorite Childhood Toy!

So, now I'm curious about what your favorite toy was! Share below, or feel free to enter the Freewrite Challenge! The more, the merrier!

Rock On and be Truly Outrageous!

I chose @Crowbarmama as a handle because I believe in doing the best you can with what you have on hand. The crowbar is a multi-purpose tool. You’ll notice my photography is a bit rough, my grammar is not the most polished, but as a homeschooling, homesteading mama of 4, if I waited to take my photos until the light was perfect or re-edited my posts a 5th time ( I shoot for 3 drafts), I would never get a post out!

Don’t sweat the small stuff, just Crowbar it!

If you like what you're reading, please upvote and subscribe! Also, I love feedback! Constructive criticism is one of the best ways to grow. I want to know what you think!

20180516_002249_0001.png

GHSC Discord

Sort:  

Probably either,

I had Action Men too - one of them was a talking one ... "Enemy ahead, range 500"

@preppervetuk Action Man definitely looks like something my brothers would have enjoyed! I remember watching the TV show Six Million Dollar Man with my Dad! Great memories!

JEM!!! My voting power is running low and I cannot not vote this post 100% because I love Jem!!!! It is my favorite cartoon when I was a little girl! 💓 Thank you for bringing this back to me :)

Posted using Partiko Android

@happycrazycon Yes! Isn't it neat the happy feelings that come back just seeing these old images? Thanks for stopping by!😘

I super love them because she can transform by touching her earring. So I love my earrings these days! :P

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't see anything about She-Ra in there...

You totally reminded me of my other favorite toy. It was a radio with a microphone and worked REALLY well. It worked so well that now its my emergency radio in my emergency kit!!

@metzli Oh, I loved She-Ra!! She was such an awesome warrior princess! I had one friend who had the headpiece and sword and I remember wanting to go play more because of wanting to wear the gear than play with her. 😆

That is awesome about the radio! They just don't make toys that last anymore!

Wow, I gotta give some thought to this! Childhood feels like a million years ago 😂

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Wow that’s so cool! Such cool toys us mamas had as kids!!
I’ve enjoyed reading this challenge/writealong!
You reminded me I also had a cassette player and I used it a lot to record music and singing and rhymes by me and my brother hehe.. so I guess that was my music inspo!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@vincy Yes, the cassette player! I remember recording songs off the radio to make my own mixtape. I would get upset when the DJ's talked over too much of the songs. Kids nowadays have no idea how easy they have it! Pandora, Youtube? You can hear whatever you want right at your fingertips without having to even flip the tape over!! Lol!😆

Hahaa what we had was cool, and it taught us a lot of the mechanics.. I remember having to fix the tapes when they broke haha..

Posted using Partiko iOS

@vincy Oh yes, rewinding the cassette manually to get the tape back in.😆

Im so upset the movie was a flop. They could have done so much better. I loved this cartoon growing up! Ive got the comics! Better than the movie they put out. I had all the misfits growing up. My sister had Jem. Too cool.

It was such a flop I forgot it existed!

@prettynicevideo That's a bummer. The previews didn't look that great so I haven't seen it yet. I didn't know there were comics! My girls would love those! And yes, the Misfits were awesome. I used to draw punk rock chicks all the time back then and would play dress up with wild makeup too. Good times! 😆

Sister! I had Jem! I have no idea where she is though lol

You too?! We would have all played together...haha

@thefarmerswife Haha! I got Rio & Jem together as a set. I have them both, but Rio has a funky melted spot on his head where he sat a bit to close to an old night light. 😆

That's truly Outrageous.

Crazy! I loved Jem too! She was also passed down to my daughter 😀 I remember I had a Jem lunchbox too....oh the memories!

P.S That's incredible her earrings still lit up until last year!

@freedomtowrite Right? I was quite impressed! A Jem lunchbox? Now that's cool!

Haha I feel a little cooler knowing you think it was cool! 😂

@freedomtowrite Wowza! I'm flattered! You are one cool chickadee! ❤️😆

Hahaha look at at us making our own cool club! 😆

@freedomtowrite Totally Radical! And totally Outrageous! Did any of you ladies own crimping irons? @metzli? @freedomtowrite? @thefarmerswife? I still use my big pink caboodle to hold my makeup! That thing is 30 years old!! 😆

Hahaha I did have a crimper and a Caboodle! Where do you guys land on scrunchies?? Lol

@freedomtowrite Oh man, my favorite scrunchie was always on me, either in my hair or on my wrist. It was multi-colored so it matched with EVERYTHING! 😆

I enjoy the tv series 😆 Jem... I always catch it during my younger days... OMG !! We’re about the same age group...

@ireenchew Yes! Classy young ladies we are! 😀

Me too me too!!! I think it was on Sunday. I was devastated when the series ended lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63814.67
ETH 3194.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90