"I'm Not A Girl That Can Ever Be Defined"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitmamas6 years ago (edited)

Hi There 😊

Have you ever had moments where you were just stuck with what to write about? I confess, that's normally a non-issue for me though I do grapple with how much personal is too personal, but otherwise time management is my weakness. Either way, it is great to belong to a community that encourages and supports and then gives you challenges so you are covered.

I am proud to be part of several here on Steemit and today's challenge comes from @SteemitMamas. This is Day 3/Challenge 2 for this month. (Mamas need a break to run around so there are catch up days in between).

The idea is to hang out at the Virtual Bar on our Discord Channel, play some songs and bond. Last night, some Mamas came on board, sharing their favourites. I was introduced to some new songs and I went back in today and listened to them again... haha. And to take it one step further, we could write about it for some extra points. You can find out more over here.

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

So I have one song that I would love to share with all Mamas and Women.
Don't judge me because of the artists. It is your typical pop but this is a song that I picked when I was having a rough time several years back. I had attended a Life Coach session and part of the workshop had us picking a song that would inspire, create positivity, create a tunnel vision for success, just a feel good. The song I chose and even used as a ringtone for several months was this one:

Fly - Nicki Minaj & Rihanna

The lyrics gave me much comfort and here is one verse with my favourite line in bold and then you can press play and listen...

Everybody wanna try to box me in
Suffocating every time it locks me in
Paintin' they own pictures than they crop me in
But I will remain where the top begins
'Cause I am not a word, I am not a line
I am not a girl that can ever be defined

I am not fly, I am levitation
I represent an entire generation
I hear the criticism loud and clear
That is how I know that the time is near
So we become alive in a time of fear
And I ain't got no m0th3rfnck!ng time to spare
Cry my eyes out for days upon days
Such a heavy burden placed upon me
But when you go hard your nay's become yay's
Yankee Stadium with Jay's and Kanye's
I came to win, to fight, to conquer, to thrive
I came to win, to survive, to prosper, to rise
To Fly

Lyric Source

Video Source

If you are a Mama and want in, click on the banner and I'll see you at the bar.

Images taken with my trusty iPhone 7 Plus, edited with my favourite apps Photofox

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

over20.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Some lyrics do relate to what we feel or experience in life. I sometime listen to Superwoman by Karyn White if I feel down & unappreciated.

There's always at least one song we can tag to a feeling, a thought, a memory, a phase, a moment ....
Karyn White's Superwoman is a good one
Alicia Key's also
Even newer songs like Roar, Fight Song and how about a real oldie Helen Reddy's I Am Woman.... haha
Ok, I better stop now
Thank you @irenechew for popping in 😊

Another one I like is I'm Every Women by Whitney Houstan

It's all in me
Anything you want done baby,
I'll do it naturally haha
Yup also a good one

Powerful jam sweets, I like Nicki 😎

This one really makes me feel I can do anything haha
Thank you so much for dropping in @enginewitty
You da best 😊

It’s so much fun at “the bar” - I tried it for the first time last night - you ladies are awesome fun! And there is something about music that is so powerful to bond over and when it speaks to you (like the one above did to you) it speaks to your soul doesn’t it?!

Can't wait to hear more songs from your playlist @wildwanderer
Love love Indie 😊

I love that we’ve been hanging out there more lately. Thanks for writing about it!

Thank you @metzli
What would the bar be without those Pineapple Beers 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97