Still Waiting on Baby: Crafting When Overdue & Over It

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

I'm almost 6 days overdue. I've done all the things. No trick or tip has gone untested - except the pineapple thing, but whatever. With nothing else to occupy my mind in this very common, but nonetheless frustrating and baffling situation, aside from the daily plans and backup plans for my son and life and things like that, I've been burning up my yarn collection making baby hats to donate for preemies.

These range in size from 3-4 lbs for the smallest to 7-9 lbs for the biggest. I put them in the order I made them - you can see I'm getting fancy now - stripes and everything! Once you get the pattern down, which is pretty easy really, it probably takes an hour to make one of these at most. Quick, cute, and satisfying :-)
yarn - premie hats.JPG

I figure if I ever get to go birth this stubborn little rascal, I might as well do something useful with my time while I wait. So I learned how to crochet preemie hats and I've made 6 in the last 3 days, working on lucky number 7 before bed tonight. My plan is to donate them to the NICU at our hospital. My son was no preemie, but he did spend 6 days in the NICU when he was born because birth trauma caused a small tear in his lung - but he's totally fine.
Here's the tutorial video I used:

This cute, soft, little baby blanket is now finished and ready to be donated, too.
yarn - chevron blanket.JPG

Finally, my 5yo son wanted in on the creative action too, so he made this regular sized baby hat with this cool little knitting loom for his baby sister or brother, if said sibling should ever consent to grace us with their presence. He did a really good job - I helped him some, of course, but I was quite impressed with his dedication to the project and now he is super excited to give it to the baby. Can't wait to see that sweet scene! Yes, this is a winter hat and it is almost July in Atlanta, GA, but who cares! It will be adorable.
yarn - loom hat.JPG

Cross your fingers for me that my little hanger-on will soon emerge! Going again tomorrow to get my membranes swept for the third time - hopefully it will be a charm...

Big thanks to all of those who have encouraged me along in these long last days of waiting...it really does help to know I'm not the only one :-)

20180516_002249_0001.png

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Ladies of Steemit yellow banner.jpeg

Upcommentresteemthankyou.png

Sort:  

Love the beenies! Upvoted and resteemed.

Super cute! Resteemed and upvoted.

I love your work, congratulations.

Love the beanies you make. Beautiful.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Yes! That's exactly the kind of knitting loom I was thinking of last week, the circle! I didn't realize it was simple enough for 5 year olds.

Tell your son I'm very impressed and I'm thrilled he loves his little sibling all ready! He's going to be a fabulous big brother!

Love and prayers to you and yours from a fellow #steemitmamas member

Aww mama, hang in there! Baby's coming and will be ready when he's ready :) Although we're ready, they know when to come out lol

Those are very beautiful baby hats. I have a friend who taught herself how to crochet from YT who's a lefty. I would like to pick this skill too :) But not sure when I'd do it. So for now, I'll enjoy your creations! Great collection of blessing for little ones :)

Nice ones! That should make your little one come out soon ;D Good luck with everything!

Thats beautiful! Congratulations

All the best for you + the baby :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61269.43
ETH 2982.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70