Reaching, Steemit Poetry Slam Host Entry no.2

in #steemitpoetryslam7 years ago (edited)

reaching-med.jpg

Here is my second Host Entry for the steemit poetry slam

*Edit, if you liked the written version you should really click the link and hear it spoken. Verse spoken by it's owner is just... Better.
CN: Language

https://m.soundcloud.com/fogbubble-productions/reaching-wav

****Reaching****

I'm reaching out
I'm reaching up
Arms skyward, yawn big.
Reaching for an ideal
Crazy enough to start religions over...
Or maybe just a war.
Reaching towards
The sun, arms spread out, planet big...
Reaching for a moment
That spreads out into infinity,
Forward in all directions.
I'm reaching for the stars,
Beyond,
Arms out...

Universe big.

I'm reaching.

Maybe all this reaching
Is just a mechanism, a mid-mid-life crisis,
A crutch upon which I lean,
Hobbling towards disaster disguised as
Enlightenment, as the shedding of entitlement
Lulls me into a complacency, where I stagnate...
It's like this self doubt mandate,
A load of Doubts so heavy they ship freight,
They roll up on you like they wear skates,
And slip in, like recessive traits.

But still, I'm reaching.
Fingers splayed and wiggling,
As if that little bit of waggle could give the extra half an inch I need to snatch those stars right out of the fucking black
They sit in...
I'm reaching out,
After the eggshell thin veneer that separates this universe from the next.
I'll be

god big,

on top of it all...
If I can only reach a little further...

I'm reaching.


DQme6carZdVPzoHVz9XYoH7ymxgvM5dptUkQPKhbsfSLhFR_1680x8400.jpg
Please consider submitting your own work... I'd just love to hear it!

Contest page here:

https://steemit.com/steemitpoetryslam/@mattie.b-leaver/steemit-poetry-slam


Image Source: http://www.alanbeangallery.com/reaching-new.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61955.50
ETH 2904.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71