Steemit Poetry Slam (Rewards contest!)

in #steemitpoetryslam7 years ago (edited)

poetry slam.jpg
In the spirit of some of the other great contests we're seeing on Steemit, I am delighted to present to you...

A Steemit Poetry Slam

I see some great content out there, and think the poets are underrepresented in the awesome community building contests that are making steem such a thrilling platform!


So shout-out to you poets:

I want spoken word stuff.
Slam rules apply as follows:

-Entry no more than two minutes long (entries exceeding that will be docked one vote per minute over, just like at a real slam.)

-Must be spoken word, I might do a written contest later if this goes well... but for now I want either video or audio of you performing your piece. Host it on youtube or soundcloud, or whatever your preferred hosting platform is...

-Must be original work (will definitely do one for found pieces later, I love found piece nights...) but on this first go round, I want original work.

-Top 3 entries (ranking based on upvotes) will be rewarded with 70% of the author rewards on this post with:
-First place getting 50% of the pool
-Second and third place each getting 25% of the pool

-Prize pool to be paid on Monday June 12th. I will post a video of myself making the payouts.

-Please post your entry on your blog with the hashtag #steemitpoetryslam
and then comment the link to it here on this post, finally upvote and resteem this post.

-I encourage folks to vote for their top three entries (or really, vote on as many entries as you like, cant hurt no-one...) in the comments in this post.

-As per most slam rules, you are allowed to campaign for your entry. So light up the comments, and drive in votes!

-Voting will close on Sunday June 11th.

Does not need to be fancy production, just intelligible. If you want to provide a transcript of your work in the post that would be rad too.

I really hope you guys do this, as I'm a fiend for spoken word...

I've included my Host Entry in the comments (which is not eligible to win in the reward pool, but will be a separate post that you would be welcome to upvote if you like!)


If you want to donate to the reward pool feel free! We would welcome any support you want to offer!

If you want too throw some love my way... @mattie.b-leaver

Much love, and have fun!

Edit if I don't get more than three entries this week, I'll roll it over into next week's contest with the reward pool from this post merging into that one...

Sort:  

I did it! here is my entry

I loved it. Thank you so much for entering! <3

Thank your for the opportunity :) I wanted to be part of a poetry slam for sooo long!

GreatJob Teammate :D

good project. you could do it in 2 categories: Text and Video.

Yay! I want to enter later this week. When is the deadline? (sorry if I overread it) did I understand right? Can it be any theme?

Voting closes Sunday at midnight U.S Central Time.

And yes, on this one any theme! I want to do themes, found pieces and other slam fun in the future. But to get it rolling wanted to keep it simple.

Keep in mind the longer you wait, the less time you have to gather votes.

I'm so excited that you'll be throwing down!

True. I will try to bring something in today :)

Awesome idea! Upvoted & re-steemed. I had my post already up but tagged steemitpoetryslam... Hope that still counts!

https://steemit.com/poetry/@viazenar/spoken-word-poetry-the-peace-on-terror-original-poem

I was floored. I'd be honored to have you. We're moving slow (this is our very first slam) so the reward pool isn't huge... But I got all the rewards I needed from you beautiful poets. Thank you!

Be sure to check out the other entries too!

Thank you! It has to start somewhere :) and it's off to a great start. Looking forward to viewing the other entries.

Ok, we got three entries, so min requirements for the contest are met, now you guys got till Sunday to muster up votes.

An excellent idea! Please do one for text as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71