Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 57 | Popeye’s Power Sandwich

DSC_0076 (2).jpg

Well blow me down!


It’s week 57 of @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest! This week @jaybird is challenging us to make a…

Famous Sandwich!


What a fun idea! I want to send a big thanks to @jaybird for hosting this contest each week! He certainly has a handle on being a creative sandwich king! I would say we all have a lot to learn from him! He said to be creative, so this week my famous sandwich comes from a childhood cartoon and comic book hero,


Popeye!


popeye-37117_1280.png

picture courtesy of pixaby


Popeye the cartoon strip debuted in 1929. It portrayed a one-eyed Sailor often found defending his girlfriend Olive Oyl from Bluto the villan. Popeye was able to gain his strength from a simple can of spinach. As they say spinach became a favorite food for many young boys and girls during this time! Today we'll salute Popeye with a power packed sandwich featuring...


Spinach!


In fact I think he always grabbed his can of spinach just like this! lol
DSC_0009 (1) (2).jpg


As you can see, Popeye had huge muscles, probably due to his extensive diet of spinach! Do you think Olive Oyl made power spinach sandwiches for Popeye? Full of protein, fruits and vegetables, and spice for the power punch he always had ready! Perhaps Popeye was a true Vegan?


I think we’ll make him proud.
todaysjourney.jpg

Popeye’s Power Sandwich

Oh, and we’ll even include Olive Oyl!

I Used

  • Plain Coconut Yogurt
  • Garlic Clove (Minced)
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Cucumber
  • Tomato (chopped)
  • Green Onion
  • Granny Smith Apple (chopped)
  • Walnuts (Chopped)
  • Red Wine Vinegar
  • Maple Syrup
  • Olive Oyl
  • Popeye Portion of Fresh Baby Spinach
  • Crumbled Vegan Goat Cheese
  • Gluten Free Fax Wrap

  • I first mixed the Yogurt, Garlic and Cayenne Pepper and refrigerated it until I was ready to assemble Popeye's Power sandwich.

DSC_0063 (2).jpg

  • Slice and chop the cucumbers and onions
    DSC_0072 (2).jpg

Place the remaining ingredients except the goat cheese in a bowl and mix. Add the spinach and toss all ingredients including Olive Oly! Place it on the wrap, sprinkle the goat cheese and drizzle the yogurt sauce!


  • I can imagine what Popeye would be saying about his love for spinach right now!*

    I yam what I yam and tha's all what I yam!


DSC_0075 (2).jpg

  • Now, just wrap it up!
    DSC_0090 (2).jpg

And as Popeye would say, “I’m strong to the finish, cause I eat me Spinach

DSC_0092 (2).jpg

Thanks again @jaybird for another great week of The Steemit Sandwich Contest!Good luck to all!

DSC_0085 (2).jpg

Glad you stopped by!

And as always, blessing to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 255 (9/12/18)

Wow, thank you @thesteemengine :) So appreciate the feature!

Now I'm really hungry......That sandwich looks really Yummy!!

Ah, good! Just the effect I was hoping for, lol! Thanks so much @snook :) Glad you enjoyed it.

Hehe yes! First of excellent use of play on words throughtout ;)

Secondly love the homage to popeye.

Thirdly u made spinach sound and look totoally delicious in this gem of a sandwich. Had i eaten this when i was younger... well oh man!

Really awesome choice ingredients to balance out the spinach flavour!

Ya did good with this entry!

Always fun to get creative @jaybird! Glad you had the idea, obviously you provide us with creative sandwiches on a daily basis. I really do love spinach so it was an easy one :) Thank you for your kind words

Oh I love your Popeye sandwich post @birdsinparadise, very well done :)

Thank you my friend, it was fun...always love a bit of silly in the day :)

Raw spinach is really great, I like it better than when it's cooked actually! Really great looking wrap, if it tastes as good as it looks, you're in for a treat :)

I love spinach, especially raw as well. Thank you for stopping by! It was indeed a hit :)

I think Popeye would trade his can of spinach for this spectacular sandwich. Super creative incorporating Olive Oyl into the sandwich. I thought the villain's name was Brutus, haha...thank you for clarifying that.

lol, I always thought his name was Brutus too but when I fact checked I found I was wrong :) I didn't want to print any mis-information! Thank you @loveself for your kindness, truly appreciated!

I remember the Popeye shows from my youth, but no, I am not that old not when he first came out LOL

The sandwich is beautiful presented and sounds good, well apart from the spinach although I liked Popeye I never have been a fan of spinach

Thank you @tatoodjay! I know, the canned spinach he was famous for was I am sure not a fan by many. lol I do love the fresh. I appreciate your words of kindness! Thanks for stopping by today :)

always a pleasure to visit your posts :)

Amazing that Pop Eye lasted as long as it has, there is something to be said for the old guy.
Nice looking sandwich and great that you tied it together with Pop Eye through the spinach. Good luck in the contest.

I know right? I actually found out that the cartoon strip was produced until 1994! That is quite a legendary run. Thank you for stopping by @sultnpapper, appreciate the kind words :)

You are more than welcome, some people accuse Pop Eye of making kids think that chewing tobacco is good for you, can you believe that? Spinach and tobacco are miles apart from each other yet I have seen where people try to link it through Pop Eye the sailor man.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

yummy 🍛that looks fantastic 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95