Steemitsandwichcontest Week #50 Tempeh With Snow Pea Leaf, Salted Dried Radish And Enoki Mushrooms

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #steemitsandwichcontest week #50 by @jaybird
ssc12.jpg

We finally moved to a tiny apartment in the heart of the Plateau in Montreal where people flock to be in the area that is the most known and popular in town.

The apartment is nothing but one room a separate kitchen and a bathroom. We don't have furniture except for a cheap folding table and two stools and we sleep on cardboard and a old sleeping bag that I bought used. No luxury of any kind except that I now don't have to worry about my mother in law trying to stop me from cooking.

I have hardly any kitchen tools and not much counter space but man is it ever great to have our own place again.

Today is my day off after a few weeks of exhausting labor at the restaurant. We are situated by the main Festival location where thousands flocked to the Jazz festival two weeks ago and now Just For Laughs Festival. It ends next week so there will be more long nights ahead.

I thought I would take the time today since I'm hungry for something other than the food from work which has been my main staple, so I made a sandwich out of some tempeh that I had bought the other day and thought I may as well place an entry to the sandwich contest and also to say hello.

I started by making a marinade for the tempeh which tends to be unexciting if it isn't flavored well.

ssc3.jpg

I chose to let it sit in a mix of water, tamari, salt, onion powder, garlic powder, thyme, paprika, cayenne, chili flakes, raw cane sugar, white wine vinegar, lemon juice, sesame oil, black pepper, and pink salt.

ssc4.jpg

I now have an oven that works so I can bake bread if I have time but today I went for a flat bread made quickly in a pan on the stove, with a simple basic flour, salt, sugar, yeast, water, olive oil and a little onion powder.

ssc6.jpg

I went to Chinatown today to get some snow pea leaves which I love the taste of. I thought I would add some dried salted radish to it. I've never cooked with it before but I could imagine that it would work together. I wanted a different mushroom so I chose Enoki for it's texture and unique flavor. I also marinated some carrots in sesame oil , vinegar, garlic powder, onion powder, ginger powder, salt a little peanut butter and a little sugar.

ssc11.jpg

I first boiled the tempeh in the marinade then seared them in a pan with sesame oil, salt, pepper, cayenne, garlic powder, onion powder paprika and black pepper.

ssc9.jpg

After I sauteed the radish and pea leaves with onion, garlic and ginger in a pan than added the enoki mushrooms.

ssc8.jpg

The bread wasn't exactly Asian like the rest of the sandwich items but it had a Gyro bread type of texture which I like.

ssc10.jpg

I have not a pen or pencil to write so I used an old unsharpened eye liner. Not the best writing tool but it did the job.

ssc5.jpg

It's been super hot here so I've been eating a lot of salad lately. No need for any other thing on the side.

ssc.jpg

Well anyway I say Hello to all of you sandwich creators and hope to see you again soon. Have a nice rest of the week everyone!

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Hi carolynstahl,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thx for supporting the wonderful work of Steemit Sandwich Contest ! Much appreciated

I thank you sooo much!!

Oh wow @carolynstahl, this looks scrumptious! I would be happy even just having that flatbread but all the other delicious stuff really makes this a winning combination!
Glad to hear you have your own place now...away from the nutmeg ;);)
Congratulations on the awesome @curie upvote!

Aww thank you @lizelle. I am nutmeg free for now until I blend it into something where it belongs haha!

Hey early bird gets the worm apparently ;)

That marinade is action packed with flavours eh!?

And the homemade bread is always appreciated ;)

I’m a big fan of the enoki add too! Lobe enoki beef rolls myself !! Yaaaa

That tempeh looks good to me, it’s always amazing to me when i’m drawn into the Awesome vegetarian entries that many of our ssc ppls produce!

Hilarious eyeliner use btw ! I approve :)

Hey @jaybird thanks and I'm glad you approve of shitty eyeliner writing. I'll get an actual pen soon haha.

I've been impatiently awaiting the day you got paid & could move out...

Thanks so much for your good wishes and support!!

Aww thank you so much!!!

That sandwich looks amazing! I love a good flatbread. Do you make yours homemade or just store bought? or do both?

Thank you @mrchef111! I made it this time but not always haha.

Very cool! :) homemade flatbread is yummy!

Hello! Great to see you back again, I was thinking you were working all the time!! So happy you have your own apartment now. What a relief for the both of you in so many ways. Anyway....this sandwich looks so tasty, beautiful presentation as always @carolynstahl. And the bread...I'll have to try that, warm and a little crispy, makes my mouth water! Great job! Welcome back!

Aww it's so nice to hear from you. It's great to be free again. Thank you @birdsinparadise!!!

I am so happy you have your own apartment now Carolyn. I can totally imagine what a relieve it must be, finally free from nagging, lol. This sandwich is clearly delicious and congratulations to your big upvote from Curie. Looks like things are turning around and soon you will be buying furniture too 🌸💖🌸

Thank you Lena! It feels great to walk around without someone scrutinizing every move I make. I still have to remind myself that it's okay to put garlic in my food and no one will say anything haha.

Enjoy very moment my Dear XOXO

You got curied!!! Yay!! Congratulations! You deserve it!

Thank you! I am always surprised when that happens because of all the other awesome posts haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55