Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #83 - Toasted Cheese & Apple SandwichsteemCreated with Sketch.

IMG_20190309_144458-COLLAGE.jpg

Apple Pie...Apple Crumble...Apple Strudel...Baked Apples...Stewed Apples...the list goes on and on, but I've never used Apples in a Sandwich.

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, or so they say, whoever they may be, but this is one ingredient I've never ever used in a sandwich.

Anyone noticed that our Steem wallets are getting a tad fatter every day? Certainly a good sign for sunshiny days ahead!

It's also been great seeing new Sandwiteers here on SSC, and this week @jaybird introduced a surprise theme - Use 1 Ingredient You Have Never Used in a Sandwich.

A big shout out to @llfarms for the sponsorship!

IMG_20190309_145139.jpg

Back to Apples and Sandwiches, I thought long and hard about it, and in the end made a good old toasted Cheese Sandwich Appled up for this week's Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #83.

INGREDIENTS:

  • Cranberry & Linseed Wholewheat Bread

  • Crisp Granny Smith Apples

  • Mature Cheddar Cheese

  • Full fat crumbly Cream Cheese

IMG_20190309_141913.jpg

Quick to put together and the tartness of the apples paired wonderfully well with the cheeses.

The Assembly line:

Full fat crumbly cream cheese first in line on both sides of the bread

IMG_20190309_142800_1.jpg

Followed by sliced Apples

IMG_20190309_142947.jpg

Finally a generous layer of grated Cheddar Cheese

IMG_20190309_143126_1.jpg

Butter sandwich on outside, pop into pan to toast; gave my good old sandwich toaster to my son!

IMG_20190309_143506.jpg

Nice crispy golden brown sandwich

IMG_20190309_143927.jpg

Revealing the melted cheese oozing into the apples

IMG_20190309_145126_1.jpg

Proof photo

IMG_20190309_144713_1.jpg

And a quick look for all our busy people

IMG_20190309_141913-ANIMATION.gif

Look forward to seeing what you're going to use in your sandwich this week!

Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Steem Kitchen.gif

SteemEngine.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 425 (03/10/19)

Thank you for your awesome support @thesteemengine!

Yes apple pie sandwich lol, well kinda...

I almost made a proper apple pie sandwich with cinnamon sugar etc etc but cheese won the day ;)
Thank you for your lovely feedback @jaybird!

Ya i thought it was going there, but i also appreciate the twist !

I've got to admit, I've never thought about an apple sandwich. But I'm thinking about one now :) That really looks tasty.

No apple & bread on Keto, will have to make a berry and cheese toasted sandwich. What do you substitute for bread @bigtom?
Thank you so much for your support and feedback!

OOhh that looks so good, I used to do similar years ago when I did grilled cheese i always would add apple or peach, loved them

Gosh, this was my first time making a sandwich with apples @tattoodjay, and now you've also used peaches! Have to try that too, we currently have the most delicious peaches available, thank you for your lovely feedback and support :)

Mos tof my family thought I was weird adding fruit to the grilled cheese sandwiches and never tried it themselves I think they just never realized what they were missing

If you enjoy fruit in a sandwich, you really should try a sliced banana sandwich, delicious!

Ohh yes I still have those often either sliced or mashed with a touch of orange juice love them

Okay that does look and sound different, never tried something like this Lizelle. Normally stick with cheese, tomato, onion and ham snack at lunchtime.

Same here @joanstewart, but it actually worked, believe it or not! So nice seeing you around again, thank you for your feedback!

Nice, that was my favourite sandwich as a child... lots of memories here!! ;)

What the heck @mondoshawan, this was a first for me, really enjoyed it!

Posted using Partiko Android

So sorry my friend, please take my excuses... It's just nearly impossible for me, I'm talking about this weeks theme. I love bread too much and have probably eaten it with all you can imagine... (no rules without exception). Sorry again.

Ah no, I was dying to see what you're going to make!

yeah yeah yeah... you have to be patient until tomorrow. And the last call from jaybird gave me already enough pressure. thanks for yours... :smirk&bigsmile:

oh my my @lizelle, this looks wonderful! Granny Smith apples are my favorite and with cheese, yikes :) Awesome idea!

Thank you my friend! A fruit I regularly have in a sandwich, is sliced Banana, delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97