Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #88 - Very Cheesy & very Meaty Hot Cross Bun SandwichsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsandwichcontest5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190411_172309_2.jpg

Spicy Hot Cross Buns shout out to me every time I go near the supermarket bakery section - Buy me...buy me... and then when I get home they shout again - Eat me...eat me...

I start buying them as soon as they hit the shelves long before Easter!

IMG_20190411_112240_1.jpg

Sweet, Spicy, Spongy and Superlicious, toasted with butter melting they are the best!

So I made a Hot Cross Bun Ice Cream Sandwich a couple of weeks ago after some burst water pipe disasters, but today I'm making a very cheesy and very meaty savoury Hot Cross Bun sandwich filled with three kinds of meats; cheesy roll topped with a Bacon cross (which shrunk to my dismay) and filled it with Lettuce, caramelised Onions, Minted Lamb Patty, melted Cheese, Smoked Beef and a local Burger Sauce, Jimmy's Chip & Burger Sauce.

I was the lucky recipient of a sauce and seasoning hamper courtesy of Jimmy's and a real nice Steemian @braaiboy direct translation BBQ Boy :) who hosts #MeatyMondays where he gives away SBI shares plus if you live in South Africa you stand the chance of winning this hamper, so thank you @braaiboy & Jimmy's! The sauces are absolutely smashing!

Check out his latest POST if you would like to win!

IMG_20190411_172614_3.jpg

Validation photo and Jimmy's Sauces Shout-out!

My cross was an epic failure - I forgot that the Bacon would shrink once cooked, my gorgeous cheesy hot cross bun was left with a little shrunken cross......darn it! But the smell was amazing!

INGREDIENTS

  • White Bread dough

  • Grated Cheese

  • Streaky Bacon rashers sliced thinly

  • Lettuce

  • Onions, caramelised

  • homemade minted Lamb Burger patty

  • Cheese slices

  • Smoked Beef

  • Burger Sauce

IMG_20190411_143411_1.jpg

Roll bread dough balls in grated strong Cheddar Cheese, make a cross with Bacon rasher - do not stretch bacon like I did as it will shrink!

IMG_20190411_151046_1.jpg

Bake at 180C for approx 20 min - note how my Bacon cross shrunk!

IMG_20190411_164755_1.jpg

Make up burger patty with ground Lamb, diced Onion, Spring Onion & fresh Mint and bind with an Egg plus Breadcrumbs or Oats or Almond Flour, the latter Keto friendly.

IMG_20190411_165741_2.jpg

IMG_20190411_170227_2.jpg

Sautee sliced onions, then cook Patty in same pan, cook one side, turn and top with a slice of Cheese to melt.

IMG_20190411_171933_1.jpg

IMG_20190411_172152_1.jpg

Slice savoury hot cross bun in half, top with Lettuce and Onions.

IMG_20190411_172226_1.jpg

Place cheese Lamb Patty on top.

IMG_20190411_172848.jpg

Finally top with smoked Beef and Jimmy's burger sauce.

IMG_20190411_172956_2.jpg

Luscious very cheesy & meaty Hot Cross Bun Sandwich.

IMG_20190411_140852_3-ANIMATION.gif

A quick look as always for all our busy Steemians.

Hope you enjoyed my sandwich this week, a big shout out to the Manwich maker @jaybird who has been hosting Steemit Sandwich Contest now in Week 88 and to the generous sponsors who pop in and support this contest from time to time. This week two lovely ladies are the sponsors and they are @llfarms and @gringalicious, thank you one and all!

PS - check out @breadbakers' blog if you enjoy experimenting with Bread baking.

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Steem Kitchen.gif

SteemEngine.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This seems to have turned into a burger of sorts. We often have Hot-Cross Buns throughout the year as breakfast food, but its considered a sweet item here!

It's always been sweet here as well but suddenly this year everyone's making all kinds of Hot Cross buns over here. I prefer the sweet & fruity spicy ones ;)
Thank you for your support & for @chops-support, I do see it and appreciate it @slobberchops :)

Thank you for your support & for @chops-support, I do see it and appreciate it @slobberchops :)

Your welcome..., speaking of those buns.. I have some here, just bought ones though ready for breakfast.

I would never have thought of turning hot cross buns into a sandwich they sound and look so cool especially with a lamb patty and even if the cross was not quite what you wanted

I'd like to have a re-run and make a better cross next time but it was still scrumptious, thank you for your feedback @tattoodjay!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the crosses looked fine but if that’s a good excuse to make them again then I agree lol 😂

Wow this looks mouth watering I book marked this recipe and I’m so trying it soon

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope you do, it was really delicious, I used store bought bread dough so it was quite easy!
Thank you for your lovely comments and support @chekohler!

Oh jeezus..smoked beef, streaky bacon... I need and am going to make a manwich right now!

I hope you had your Manwich by now @jaybird ;)
I nearly did a second take on this to get that Bacon cross looking better but stopped myself right in my tracks... Always will be a next time!

I yea i crushed one almost immediately after lol.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 456 (04/14/19)

YUM... sounds delicious... and perfect time of the year.

Thanks for the shoutout \m/

It was very meaty and very tasty, thanks for your comments and support!

Wow, now you've really made me hungry @lizelle. Not sure which I would eat first...bacon, lamb, cheese or that amazing bun! Tasty-licious! Well done my friend :)

Ah thank you my friend, I'm still upset about that failed Bacon cross though, will have to try this again some time but could not tempt hubby just now with the smell of a cheesy bacon yeast bake ;)

Oh my no, you might lose a hand if you tried to grab that cheesy bacon delight away...a beautiful bacon topping is not worth losing a body part, lol Don't worry my friend, if you hadn't called attention to it we would't have noticed, I thought it was simple beautiful! (And I'm sure @jaybird did too ;) )

Ah you're such a sweetie Mrs Bird :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm mostly hungry after reading your posts, but here I am starving... wow

I hope you're not hungry anymore ;) Have you made your sandwich yet @mondoshawan?
Thank you for your lovely comments always my friend!

Hello @lizelle, it's a great boys' meaty sandwich! We are happy to welcome Sandwich Queen to #breadbakers :) Happy baking~ & sandwich making 🥪

Haha that title for someone who never liked sandwiches ;);)
Thank you for the welcome to breadbakers!

Congratulations @lizelle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01